Welcome!
Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101 - Prof. Rogers
Please contact an SCF Librarian if you need assistance
Lakewood Ranch, LC
Alfia Myers at myersa@scf.edu
Issues in My Discipline Essay Steps 1-3
Need help with step 1-3 (selecting a research topic, brainstorming research questions, and looking for sources)? Try looking at these databases for ideas!
Not finding what you need? Click here for a full list of SCF databases.
Or search the library catalog here.
Be sure to refer to Canvas reading for 'Conducting Research', 'How to Identify Academic/Scholarly Sources', and 'Evaluating Sources'
Additionally, be sure to ask me if you still need help!
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new windowViewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowResearch overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
- Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDesigned to support global awareness, Global Issues in Context ties together news, perspectives, reference materials, primary source documents, audio, video, statistics, and more. Search "Browse Issues and Topics" to find international issue ideas. -From publisher.
- Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowUnderstand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Contains thousands of editorials and opinions from renowned newspaper sources and offers in-depth articles presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias.
Additional General Research Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- Google Scholar SCF Full Text This link opens in a new windowLook for
on the right side. For Full-text click on SCF Full Text. The far right column also often has full text sources from educational institutions and open access scholarly journals. - Health Affairs (Project HOPE) This link opens in a new windowThe leading peer-reviewed journal of health policy thought and research. Health Affairs explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres.
Issues in My Discipline Essay Step 4
The Annotated Bibliography
Upon completing research, prepare an ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY of the sources; an annotated bibliography is simply a summary of the source with the bibliographic citation used as the title (you practiced bibliographic citations with the APA Exercise; see Canvas for an example Annotated Bibliography). Each source summary should be 200-300 words in length.
Issues in My Discipline Essay Step 5
APA Citation
- Apa Citation Guide and ExamplesOur friendly librarian Maria made this guide just for you! See how to cite various sources and learn how to do proper in-text citations.