Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

SPC1608 Prof. Bieselin: Getting Started

Guide for Prof. Bieselin's SPC 1608 Speech Communication courses (online or face-to-face)

Welcome to the SPC 1608 Library Guide for Prof. Bieselin's courses!

Please contact any of the SCF librarians for assistance with the information on this guide.

Prof. Bieselin's Assignments:

Your assignments

Follow these steps to conduct research for the assignments:

 

Step 1: Choose and define your topic (preliminary research)

Explore recommended databases (see the box below) to choose a topic and read about it, so you can refine it and get instructor's approval.

Create a list of keywords and other information to use when you search.

 

Step 2: Search for the following sources:

 

Step 3: Use the information and cite them in APA Format

Some databases include a "Citation Tool" that helps you cite their sources. If you use it, be careful: remember to not COPY+PASTE, but instead COPY+PASTE+CORRECT.

How do you "correct" them? Check this APA Guide  or Ask a Librarian!

 

Remember your SCF Library login:  Borrower ID = G00 number / PIN: Last four digits of G00 number.

Step 1

The following databases are great for exploring topics:

Step 2: Searching books & ebooks

Type-in your topic in the box below to search the "Library Catalog" also called "Quick Search"

This "all-in-one search" includes books, ebooks, videos, articles & more:

Step 2: Scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles

Newspaper articles:

Searching for scholarly sources

Peer-reviewed articles in Academic Search Complete (and other EBSCO databases):

To search for scholarly sources that are "peer-reviewed" in databases such as "Academic Search Complete" (EBSCO), make sure to click the button with that option on the search page, as shown here:

Select full text and peer reviewed buttons

Step 3: Citing

Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!

  • Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
  • If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
  • When in doubt... ask a librarian!

Citing Guides

Link to Citing Guides

 

Check how much you learned!