Books
Dangerous Science by
The public is generally enthusiastic about the latest science and technology, but sometimes research threatens the physical safety or ethical norms of society. When this happens, scientists and engineers can find themselves unprepared in the midst of an intense science policy debate. In the absence of convincing evidence, technological optimists and skeptics struggle to build consensus. In these situations, it is best to sidestep the instigating controversy by using a broad risk-benefit assessment as a risk exploration tool to help scientists and engineers accomplish their goals while avoiding physical or moral dangers. Dangerous Science explores the intersection of science policy and risk analysis to determine ways to minimize negative impacts of science and technology on society.?
ISBN: 1911529897Publication Date: 2020
Robotics in STEM Education by
This book describes recent approaches in advancing STEM education with the use of robotics, innovative methods in integrating robotics in school subjects, engaging and stimulating students with robotics in classroom-based and out-of-school activities, and new ways of using robotics as an educational tool to provide diverse learning experiences. It addresses issues and challenges in generating enthusiasm among students and revamping curricula to provide application focused and hands-on approaches in learning . The book also provides effective strategies and emerging trends in using robotics, designing learning activities and how robotics impacts the students' interests and achievements in STEM related subjects. The frontiers of education are progressing very rapidly. This volume brought together a collection of projects and ideas which help us keep track of where the frontiers are moving. This book ticks lots of contemporary boxes: STEM, robotics, coding, and computational thinking among them. Most educators interested in the STEM phenomena will find many ideas in this book which challenge, provide evidence and suggest solutions related to both pedagogy and content. Regular reference to 21st Century skills, achieved through active collaborative learning in authentic contexts, ensures the enduring usefulness of this volume. John Williams Professor of Education and Director of the STEM Education Research Group Curtin University, Perth, Australia
ISBN: 3319577859Publication Date: 2017-07-18
The Search for Method in STEAM Education by
This book explores various approaches to building a positive interdisciplinary STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and math) learning environment, as described by educators across the K-20 educational ladder. Crucial to their success, Martinez finds, is the playful and performatory approach they employ in their teaching. Their practices are creative, improvisational, and inclusive, and are shared in detail through illustrations and interviews. Throughout the book, the author explores a Vygotskian cultural performatory approach to creating interdisciplinary STEAM learning environments, drawing out the history of this approach and its success in fostering collaboration, creativity, leadership, and communication skills, as well as its effect on social, emotional, and cognitive growth in both formal and informal educational settings.
ISBN: 3319558218Publication Date: 2017-07-13
STEM the Tide by
Proven strategies for reforming STEM education in America's schools, colleges, and universities. One study after another shows American students ranking behind their international counterparts in the STEM fields--science, technology, engineering, and math. Businesspeople and cultural critics such as Bill Gates warn that this alarming situation puts the United States at a serious disadvantage in the high-tech global marketplace of the twenty-first century, and President Obama places improvement in these areas at the center of his educational reform. What can be done to reverse this poor performance and to unleash America's wasted talent? David E. Drew has good news--and the tools America needs to keep competitive. Drawing on both academic literature and his own rich experience, Drew identifies proven strategies for reforming America's schools, colleges, and universities, and his comprehensive review of STEM education in the United States offers a positive blueprint for the future. These research-based strategies include creative and successful methods for building strong programs in science and mathematics education and show how the achievement gap between majority and minority students can be closed. A crucial measure, he argues, is recruiting, educating, supporting, and respecting America's teachers. Accessible, engaging, and hard hitting, STEM the Tide is a clarion call to policymakers, administrators, educators, and everyone else concerned about students' participation in the STEM fields and America's competitive global position.
ISBN: 1421400944Publication Date: 2011-10-01Why Science and Art Creativities Matter by Why Science and Arts Creativities Matter is a ground-breaking text which significantly extends current understandings of STEAM and debates about individuation of disciplines vis- -vis transdisciplinary theory. Drawing upon posthumanism, new materialism and enactivism, this collection of chapters aims to dwell further into the ways in which we come to know in relationship with the world. The text draws together a wide set of approaches and points of views to stimulate dialogue and awareness of the different ways in which we can extend the repertoire of human faculties for thinking and experiencing the world. A unique invitation is shared with readers to develop greater understanding of the contribution of education across the arts and sciences and to re-imagine our collective futures. This book is a unique and timely volume that opens up several new lines of enquiry and arguments on STEAM education. It rebalances and readdresses the current emphasis in the literature around STEAM as another, newer opportunity to teach content. Instead, it brings a more specific focus on an entwining of contemporary theorists - putting theory to work - to extend the means for understanding and cultivating science and arts creativities, and make explicit key connections with the materiality of practices. This new go-to text offers a demonstration of how the latest research and theoretically engaged thinking (thinking through theory) on STEAM education can be put to work in practice. Contributors are: Ramsey Affifi, Sofie Areljung, Chris Brownell, Pamela Burnard, Kerry Chappell, Laura Colucci-Gray, Carolyn Cooke, Krist f Fenyvesi, Erik Fooladi, Cathy Francis, Lindsay Hetherington, Anna Hickey-Moody, Christine Horn, Tim Ingold, Riikka Kosola, Zsolt Lavicza, Elsa Lee, Saara Lehto, Danielle Lloyd, James Macallister, Caroline Maloney, Tessa Mcgavock, Karin Murris, Lena Nasiakou, Edvin stergaard, Anne Pirrie, Hermione Ruck Keene, Ruth Sapsed, Diana Scherer, Pallawi Sinha, Margaret Somerville, Keiren Stephenson, Carine Steyn, Jan Van Boeckel, Nicola Walshe, Olivier Werner, Marissa Willcox, and Heather Wren.
ISBN: 9789004396111Publication Date: 2019-12-19
General Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find relevant eBooks on a wide range of academic disciplines. Read online, search within the eBook, highlight, take notes and bookmark pages. Download eBooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device. - eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowConsumer, popular, technical and some academic eBooks. Device agnostic. Read on desktop, laptop, tablet or mobile device.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
- Springer Link This link opens in a new windowFull text access to academic journals and eBooks in a variety of disciplines, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more.
STEM Videos
Meet your Librarian!
Resources
- Science and Technology IndicatorsScience and Engineering Indicators (Indicators) provides high-quality quantitative information on the U.S. and international science and engineering (S&E) enterprise. Indicators consists of detailed thematic or focus area reports, a state data tool, and a congressionally mandated report delivered biennially to the President and Congress that highlights important trends from across the focus areas. Indicators reports employ a variety of presentation styles—such as narrative text, data tables, and figures—to provide accessible data to consumers with different information needs.
- STEM CareersDo you love science? Are you naturally curious? If so, you might find a way to shine in the field of STEM - Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.
- STEM Education DataWelcome to the STEM Education Resource website, where you can discover the answers to important questions on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and careers using the information from the National Science Board’s Science and Engineering Indicators report.