eBooks & eAudio books
Yoga by
You will be prompted to log in using your SCF G# & Library PIN {last 4 # of your G#}
Call Number: EBSCO eBookISBN: 9780585059730Publication Date: 1998
Poser by
National Bestseller Ten years ago, Claire Dederer put her back out while breastfeeding her baby daughter. Told to try yoga by everyone from the woman behind the counter at the co-op to the homeless guy on the corner, she signed up for her first class. She fell madly in love. Over the next decade, she would tackle triangle, wheel, and the dreaded crow, becoming fast friends with some poses and developing long-standing feuds with others. At the same time, she found herself confronting the forces that shaped her generation. Daughters of women who ran away to find themselves and made a few messes along the way, Dederer and her peers grew up determined to be good, good, good--even if this meant feeling hemmed in by the smugness of their organic-buying, attachment-parenting, anxiously conscientious little world. Yoga seemed to fit right into this virtuous program, but to her surprise, Dederer found that the deeper she went into the poses, the more they tested her most basic ideas of what makes a good mother, daughter, friend, wife--and the more they made her want something a little less tidy, a little more improvisational. Less goodness, more joy. Poseris unlike any other book about yoga you will read--because it is actually a book about life. Witty and heartfelt, sharp and irreverent,Poseris for anyone who has ever tried to stand on their head while keeping both feet on the ground.
Call Number: Overdrive eAudiobookISBN: 9781250002334Publication Date: 2012-01-03
Search the SCF Catalog
Wellness Resources for Yoga & Exercise
The SCF Library has many resources to support your health and wellness.
We check out yoga kits, and have diet, meditation and other wellness related books, ebooks,
DVDs & streaming content.
Browse the DVD shelves at each campus or search the Quick Search for more.
Examples of wellness equipment we have for loan:
- Yoga Kit (mat, block, bands)
- Weights kits (different lbs.)
- Resistance band kits
- Jump rope
Stop by the Library or contact us to see what's available on each campus.
Not at the campus that has the item you want? Click on Request Item and the courier can deliver your item, usually within 2 days.
Still don't see what you want? Suggest we purchase it with our Feedback Button also located at the top of our main screen.
Flipster eBrowsing Magazines
Browse your favorite magazines using your phone or tablet.
You will need to add the Flipster App to your phone or tablet and sync your SCF Library Account.
DVDs & Streaming Videos
- Quick start yoga. Fast efficient workouts 20 minutes or lessCall Number: Venice Popular Choice (DVD RA781.7 .Q85 2013 )
- Rodney Yee's Yoga for your week : feel great, lose weight & increase flexibility in just 20 minutes a day : 5 practices on 1 DVD.Call Number: Bradenton Popular Choice (DVD RA781.67 .Y64 2013 )
- X-trainfit yoga.Call Number: Lakewood Ranch Popular Choice (DVD RA781.67 .X873 2013 )
- 10 minute solution. Pilates for beginners.Call Number: Lakewood Ranch Popular Choice (RA781.4 .P55 2010 )
- The Tracy Anderson method presents dance cardio workout DVDCall Number: Bradenton or Venice Popular Choice DVD
- Romana's pilates. Optimum weight managementCall Number: Bradenton Popular Choice (DVD RA781.4 .R66 2003 )
- Streaming Video: Series - Yogawoman Narrated by Annette Bening, this is the incredible story behind the global phenomenon that is yoga. Originally brought to the West from India by a lineage of male teachers, there’s now a generation of strong, inspiring women leading the way. With unique access to these world-renowned yoga practitioners and leading health experts, Yogawoman reveals how yoga has utterly transformed the lives of thousands of people across the world.
- Streaming Video: Adaptive Yoga yoga teacher makes adaptations and accommodations that allow people with different physical challenges caused by multiple sclerosis to participate in yoga exercises.
- Streaming Video: Series - Planet Yoga Yoga is the fastest-growing spiritual practice around the world. This documentary explores the dynamic encounter between Western seekers and the Eastern philosophy born centuries ago, transforming both yoga and practitioners.
Looking for more?
Search the SCF Catalog
Books
To search for books across all 3 campuses or across the college system, use the Quick Search and use the facets to limit your search to your specific needs. Try broad keywords such as recipes, nutrition, cooking or diet. scf.edu/library
Yoga Mind and Body by
All the yoga essentials are covered in this easy-to-follow, step-by-step visual guide. Develop your mental and physical potential, take control of the stress and tension of everyday living, and learn to nourish your mind and body with yoga. Vetted by the expert staff of the Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Center, Yoga Mind and Body provides a comprehensive approach to yoga, with meditation tools, stress relief exercises, and recipes for healthful nutrition. Using the ancient science of yoga, this guide gives you the tools to improve your positivity, health, happiness, and wellbeing. Based on Swami Vishnu-Devananda's five yoga principles. Yoga Mind and Body will develop your mental and physical potential. Nourish yourself with simple, wholesome food and begin to take control of the stresses and tensions of everyday living. Through exercise, breathing, relaxation, diet and meditation techniques, you too will unlock the secret to positive thinking that will ensure a more fulfilling, meaningful life. For all yoga enthusiasts, whatever their age or fitness level.
Call Number: Venice 2nd Floor/Circulation -- BL1238.52 .S58 2008ISBN: 9780756636746Publication Date: 2008-04-21
At Office Yoga: Your at Work Yoga Guide for Stiff Bodies That Sit All Day by
You work hard all day! Don't you deserve a break?Recent studies have proven that sitting for extended periods of time throughout the work day is more than just uncomfortable and boring, it is detrimental to your health! To help combat dangerous side effects of sedentary lifestyles, like obesity, heart disease, depression, and diabetes, you need to move throughout your day -- a lot!At Office Yoga: Your At Work Yoga Guide For Stiff Bodies That Sit All Day shows you how simple doing yoga at work (and before and after) really can be. And it's so good for you too! Practicing yoga throughout the work day will: Increase Metabolism Improve Posture Prevent and Manage Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Decrease Stress and Moodiness Boost Energy and Productivity Help You Feel Comfortable, Confident, and Awesome! Julie Schoen, professional yoga teacher based in New Mexico, guides you through three carefully crafted yoga sequences that are designed specifically to help keep you in tip top shape both mentally and physically while at work.The 7th installment of her popular Just Do Yoga series, Schoen's humor, detailed instruction, and beautiful color photographs make this yoga guide one you will return to again and again, beginners to advanced yogis welcome!Make The Best Of Your Work Day Today -- Buy At Office Yoga Now!
Call Number: Lakewood Ranch Circulation -- RA781.7 .S346 2013ISBN: 9781490343273Publication Date: 2013-04-04
Looking for more?
Search the SCF Catalog
Find Articles, Reference Essays, & Streaming Videos from Library Databases
The SCF Library has dozens of online databases that you can search for additional articles, reference essays or streaming videos. Here is a selection of databases you can search to find more articles on yoga & exercise.
- Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Quick professional summaries of diseases and health concerns. Coverage includes alternative medicine, drugs, herbs and practices. Multimedia.
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Documentaries and videos on many topics. Create clips and playlists.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Great resource for the non-medical professional. This database pulls from popular and consumer health magazines.
- Article : Yoga an effective strategy for self-management of stress-related problems and wellbeing during COVID19 lockdown: A cross-sectional study. From the Gale Health & Medicine Database. You will need to authenticate with your SCF Login to access this article.
- Reference Article: Yoga From the Gale Health & Wellness Database. You will need to authenticate with your SCF Login to access this article.
- eVideo: Yoga: The Divinity of Grace From the Films on Demand Database. You will need to authenticate with your SCF Login to access this article.
Search the SCF Catalog