SCF Collegiate School
Middle and High School Library Resources
Recommended databases for middle and high school
Research & Assignments
Do you need information for a research assignment? Find reliable sources of information!
Login with the same login you use for MySCF and Canvas.
Databases recommended for middle and high school levels:
- Gale in Context - Middle School (Gale) This link opens in a new window(Formerly known as "InfoTrac Junior")
Basic collection of general topics, ideal for middle school and high school research.Also can be used to choose possible topics. - MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowDatabase designed for high school. Includes many full text articles from magazines, biographies, reference, and primary sources.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowOnline encyclopedia. Use this database as a starting point on your research, to get the basic information about a person, a topic, or an event.
Databases for college level that can be useful for CS students:
(Work with a librarian or your teacher as needed.)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowGeneral database for many topics.
This is a "College" database.
Searches full text articles, magazines, newspapers, and primary sources. - Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAll about famous people! Search by name, occupation, or other information and you'll get a page with links to articles, books, images, reference, interviews, primary sources, etc... all in one place!
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowOverviews on current events, public affairs, and controversial topics. Includes pro/con issues.
- Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new windowThe full collection of resources from Salem Press. Includes Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, and Introduction to Literary Context series. Also contains Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and Careers series.
Databases recommended for Primary Sources:
(Work with a librarian or your teacher as needed.)
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window"Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror."
- New York Times (Historical: 1851-2017) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from the New York Times, from 1851 - 2017
- History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window750+ history reference books, encyclopedias, and the full-text of 60 history magazines. This database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies, 12,000 photos and maps; and 87 hours film and video.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes hundreds of primary source historical U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and the 20th Century. Complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, cartoons and more.
Need more?
- Search the list of all databases BY SUBJECT.
- Check if we have a GUIDE for that topic.
- Ask a Librarian! We can recommend the best places to search. Use the "Ask a Librarian" chat box on the left.
Other Libraries Websites
Manatee County Public Libraries: To access electronic resources, you need to get a Library Card. Log in with your 14 digit public library barcode and PIN. You may need to call the public library to set up your PIN. Not all databases available online.
Sarasota County Public Libraries: Digital Library. To access electronic resources, you need to get a Library Card.
Florida Electronic Library search Florida resources as well as a large number of online databases. Log in with your 14 digit public library barcode and PIN. You may need to call the public library to set up your PIN.
Library of Congress - Primary digitized documents from American History and related collections.
Quiz
Books about the UN Sustainable Development Goals
Do you want to read books (fiction and nonfiction) related to the SDG?
Check out this book gallery!
Help?
Do you need assistance using these resources?
Ask a Librarian!
-
Chat-SMS: https://askalibrarian.org/scf
-
Email
-
Phone: BR 941-752-5305 / VE 941-408-1435
-
In person: Bradenton Campus - Building 3 / Venice Campus - Bldg. 300