It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Library Resources. -- Narrow your search to format. You can select ebooks, books. scholarly journal articles, newspapers, digital video and more. Search by subject or keyword using the following headings. Add your author as a keyword to narrow the search. You may narrow or expand your search by literary time period ( Beat, Harlem Renaissance ), form of poetry ( epic, free verse ), national/regional terms ( American, Arab, African American ) or other more specific subject areas ( women, history, war ). The Library catalog search brings up print resources, electronic and audio books.
American or English Poetry
History and criticism
Criticism and interpretation
JSTOR is Professor Masucci Recommended for his online contemporary Poetry assignment.
WHAT : Vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines. Most works are scholarly and peer reviewed. One of JSTOR's key strengths is that its full text coverage goes centuries back.WHY: Most databases only go back to the mid 1990s. TIPS: Use the ADVANCED SEARCH, select ARTICLE, identify start/end date and select LANGUAGE & LITERATURE. This is not the best database for current events.
WHAT: Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
WHY: Covers a variety of specific literary journals ( Explicator, Studies in Romanticism, Victorian Poetry).
TIPS: Make sure to select for FULL TEXT. Include literary terms in search, such as, themes and criticism.
To open EBSCO databases, click on the "OpenAthens Login" link after you log in.
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
WHY: If the poem deals with a mental health issue, this database may provide empirical research and primary sources on emotion, anxiety, love, death and other themes. This database also has studies on the reading of poetry in terms of audience, gender, rhyme patterns and more.