Welcome
Welcome to the Library Guide for POS1041 - Prof. Fuerstman
I am Alfia, your POS1041 librarian in Lakewood Ranch.
If you have questions, send me an email, or ask for me at the
Lakewood Ranch Learning Commons Rm 122
Your Assignment
Librarian. Reference & Instruction
Tutorials and Info
Primary Databases
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGood place to begin, to get the scope/history of the issue.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowGives timeline of issue, pro/con, images, graphs, facts, and opinions.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAs name suggests, provides opposing viewpoints on many issues in the United States. Lots of scholarly and reliable information.
- Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowHundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Secondary Databases
- Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Funded by FLVC.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine. Also includes some current Nursing journals. Funded by FLVC.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator. Funded by FLVC.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File. Funded by FEL.
- Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Essays and research from major reference titles. Provides scholarship on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues. Funded by SCF Group License.