eBooks
The Yellow Wallpaper by
Charlotte Perkins Gilman's 1892 short story, The Yellow Wallpaper is a valuable piece of American feminist literature that reveals attitudes toward the psychological health of women in the nineteenth century. Diagnosed with "temporary nervous depression - a slight hysterical tendency" by her physician husband, a woman is confined to an upstairs bedroom. Descending into psychosis at the complete lack of stimulation, she starts obsessing over the room's yellow wallpaper: "It is the strangest yellow, that wall-paper! It makes me think of all the yellow things I ever saw - not beautiful ones like buttercups, but old foul, bad yellow things. But there is something else about that paper - the smell! ... The only thing I can think of that it is like is the color of the paper! A yellow smell."
ISBN: 1776510488Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Flash Fiction by
Outstanding, in-depth scholarship by renowned literary critics; great starting point for students seeking an introduction to the theme and the critical discussions surrounding it. This first-of-its-kind volume on flash fiction-prose of no more than 1,000 words-tracks the development and critical context of this international literary genre. Essays look at both prominent forebearers and current practitioners including Kate Chopin, Franz Kafka, Julio Cortazar, Amy Hempel, and Lydia Davis. Each essay is 2,500 to 5,000 words in length, and all essays conclude with a list of ""Works Cited,"" along with endnotes. Finally, the volume's appendixes offer a section of useful reference resources: About This Volume; Critical Context: Original Introductory Essays; Critical Readings: Original In-Depth Essays; Further Readings; Detailed Bibliography; Detailed Bio of the Editor; General Subject Index.
ISBN: 1682172708Publication Date: 2017-04-30
World Literature Criticism by
This supplement broadens the coverage of the original title to include important Christian authors and influential 1st to 15th-century writers and works, adds authors who could not be included in the first volume and updates the set with additional 20th-century authors.
ISBN: 0787616966Publication Date: 1997-08-15
Books
The Cambridge Companion to Eighteenth-Century Poetry by
The Cambridge Companion to Eighteenth-Century Poetry analyzes major premises, preoccupations, and practices of English poets writing from 1700 to the 1790s. These specially-commissioned essays avoid familiar categories and single-author approaches to look at the century afresh. Chapters consider such large poetic themes as nature, the city, political passions, the relation of death to desire and dreams, appeals to an imagined future, and the meanings of 'sensibility'. Other chapters explore historical developments such as the connection between poetic couplets and conversation, the conditions of publication, changing theories of poetry and imagination, growing numbers of women poets and readers, the rise of a self-consciously national tradition, and the place of lyric poetry in thought and practice. The essays are well supported by supplementary material including a chronology of the period and detailed guides to further reading. Altogether the volume provides an invaluable resource for scholars and students.
Call Number: PR551 .C27 2001ISBN: 0521658853Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Contemporary African American Women Playwrights by
'The impressive array of scholars gathered in this collection, all experts in the field, read the plays with nuance and situate them deftly within their cultural and historical contexts. Scholars of contemporary theater and drama and of African American literature will find value in this engaging collection.'nbsp;- Choice 'For students and scholars of American theatre and drama generally and African American theatre and drama most particularly, this is an extremely valuable critical source.'nbsp;- Harry Elam, nbsp;Stanford University, USA In the lastnbsp;fifty years, American and World theatre has been challenged and enriched by the rise to prominence of numerous female African American dramatists. Contemporary African American Women Playwrights is the first critical volume to explore the contexts and influences of these writers, and their exploration of black history and identity through a wealth of diverse, courageous and visionary dramas. Kolin compiles a wealth of new essays, comprising: Yale scholar David Krasner on the dramatic legacy of Lorraine Hansberry, Zora Neale Hurston, Marita Bonner and Georgia Douglas Johnson individual chapters devoted to: Alice Childress, Sonia Sanchez, Adrienne Kennedy, Ntozake Shange, Pearl Cleage, Aishah Rahman, Glenda Dickerson, Anna Deavere Smith and Suzan Lori-Parks an essay and accompanying interview with Lynn Nottage comprehensive discussion of attendant theatrical forms, from choreopoems and surrealistic plays, to documentary theatre and civil rights dramas, and their use in challenging racial and gender hierarchies. Contributors: Brandi Wilkins Catanese, Soyica Diggs, James Fisher, Freda Scott Giles, Joan Wylie Hall, Philip C. Kolin, David Krasner, Sandra G. Shannon, Debby Thompson, Beth Turner and Jacqueline Wood.
Call Number: PS338.N4 C66 2012ISBN: 9780415541121Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature by
The unique, three-volume Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature offers both a survey of literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works. Part I of this comprehensive new set contains essays on 50 prominent literary themes, with each essay describing how the theme has evolved over time, how it relates to other important themes, and why this theme is powerful enough to recur so often in great literature. Part II contains essays on specific themes in more than 300 individual classic works of literature. Each section on a particular work contains a brief introduction to the work as well as three essays on different literary themes within the work. Themes covered include alienation, coming of age, heroism, innocence and experience, race, science and technology, and more.
Call Number: PR19 .M35 2011ISBN: 9780816071616Publication Date: 2010-12-30
Shakespeare's Language by
Rife with arcane references, unfamiliar expressions, and words of his own invention, Shakespeare's texts can intimidate even the most learned reader. ""Shakespeare's Language, Second Edition"" is a comprehensive and straightforward guide to the ornate and sometimes bewildering language that may be unfamiliar to today's readers of Shakespeare's plays and poetry.This revised and updated edition contains more than 17,000 definitions - more than 2,000 of which are new - from the adjective ""chop-fallen"" in ""Hamlet"" to the verb ""beshrew"" in ""Much Ado About Nothing"". It also features an all-new chapter, ""Introduction to Shakespeare and His Language,"" which provides essential background on Shakespeare's life and works, as well as an in-depth discussion of how modern readers can approach his works in order to best understand and enjoy them.Entries feature: definitions of words as they are used in the texts; a Shakespearean quote placing each defined word or phrase in context; the word's part of speech; and, variant usages. Coverage includes geographical references, historical and mythological figures, and foreign-language expressions.
Call Number: PR2892 .S447 2008ISBN: 9780816071258Publication Date: 2008-03-30
Short Story Writers by
This is a comprehensive and up-to-date survey of the most often studied short story writers from around the world.The 146 authors, and 800 works covered in this set reflect the range and diversity of nineteenth and twentieth century short-story writing. More than half the authors covered are from the United States, reflecting the strength of the genre in its birthplace. The second largest national grouping is England, added to which are some of the great authors of Ireland and Scotland. Readers will also find some of the cornerstone short fiction writers of Canada, the Continent, Russia, Asia, Africa, and South America. Women authors have excelled in the genre, and of the 49 surveyed in these volumes, 21 are new to this edition.""Short Story Writers, Revised Edition"", is the first revision of this Magill's ""Choice"" set published in 1997. This new edition adds 44 more articles on important authors of short fiction. The three-volume set has 146 articles on the most frequently taught, most frequently read, most acclaimed, and most often researched short-fiction writers studied in American schools and colleges. All the essays in these volumes have been culled from the 480 author essays in Salem Press' ""Critical Survey of Short Fiction, Second Revised Edition"" (2001) and have been updated. They collectively provide an essential look at the best in short-fiction writing in an easy-to-use and student-friendly format.The essays are arranged alphabetically, by authors' surnames, in the three volumes, and their concise and accessible formats follow an easy-to-use template. Each essay begins with the author's name, birth date and place, death date and place when appropriate, and a chronological list of the subject's major publications of short fiction. The text of the essay is divided into four subsections: Other literary forms describes other genres in which the author has worked; Achievements addresses what the author has contributed to the genre and mentions any important honors and awards the author has received; Biography summarizes the author's life; and Analysis, the main body of the text, is a detailed examination of the author's short-story writing that usually includes three or four subheaded sections focusing on individual stories that help explain the author's work.Volume 3 concludes with a glossary of more than 150 terms and techniques commonly used in the study of short fiction and a comprehensive index. A list of the many scholars who contributed their time and knowledge to writing the articles appears on the following page.
Call Number: PN3373 .S398 2008ISBN: 9781587653896Publication Date: 2008-03-30
eBooks and audiobooks
- Audiobook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFiction and nonfiction collection of audiobooks. You will need to create an EBSCO log in and download software to your PC or Mac.
- eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find relevant eBooks on a wide range of academic disciplines. Read online, search within the eBook, highlight, take notes and bookmark pages. Download eBooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device. - eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowConsumer, popular, technical and some academic eBooks. Device agnostic. Read on desktop, laptop, tablet or mobile device.
- OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new windowPopular fiction and nonfiction eBook and audiobook collection perfect for recreational reading and some research. Downloading Overdrive software or app required.