Reference & Instruction Librarian
Building 3, Library & Learning Center
Analyzing Texts Assignment
Analyzing Texts Assignment
Below you will find the topics for your summary and response essay. Remember that when you are searching the library catalog or library databases you will search using keywords (not phrases).
Resources
-
The Norton Field Guide to Writing with Readings
by
ISBN: 9780393884074Publication Date: 2022-01-05The Norton Field Guide lets instructors teach the way they want to teach, and helps students write in the way that works best for them. In the Sixth Edition, new coauthor Deborah Bertsch shows students how to adapt their writing to new rhetorical situations with three new chapters--Remixes, Explorations, and Reflecting on Your Writing. More inclusive than ever, the new edition features thirty new readings, including seventeen written by students, that offer fresh and inspiring sources for writing. New videos and interactive activities in InQuizitive for Writers reveal multiple ways to understand and apply the book's advice, and are complemented by new instructor resources that respond to today's teaching challenges.
-
Finding a Resource ActivityAn activity sheet to help you find resources for your topic.
Group 1: Well-Behaved Women Seldom Make History pp. 737-747
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File. Funded by FEL.
-
African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
More than 80 journal articles that provide original, peer-reviewed scholarly arguments on such complex topics as the notion of a post-racial society and the long-term efficacy of Reconstruction.
Contains biographies of such famous political and social figures as W.E.B. DuBois, Barack Obama, Frederick Douglass, and Mary McLeod Bethune as well as such fascinating contemporary figures as Amiri Baraka, Muhammad Ali, Drake, and Oprah Winfrey. Primary and secondary sources, including the complete WPA Slave Narratives collection, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics. Also contains photographs, maps, and other images. Funded by SCF Group License. -
Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative Full Text content from Reference sources, Periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places or gender. Funded by FLVC.
Group 2: Changing the Face of Poverty: Nonprofits and the Problem of Representation pp. 748-758
-
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues in Context ties together news, perspectives, reference materials, primary source documents, audio, video, statistics, and more. Search "Browse Issues and Topics" to find international issue ideas. -From publisher. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Kick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports. Funded by SCF.
-
Charity NavigatorCharity Navigator helps millions of people take action and support the causes they care about by connecting them to the best charities that align with their passions and values.
Group 3: Representation of Disney Princesses in the Media pp. 759-773
-
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Full text news from major national newspapers, local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Funded by FLVC.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator. Funded by FLVC.
Group 4: Women and American War Posters pp. 774-784
-
ArtStor Images This link opens in a new window
An image library for the Arts from international museums, libraries and artists' collections. Images for African-American, American History, Women's, Asian ,and Classical Art Studies. Anthropology, Architecture, Design, Medical History and other images of art, maps, drawings and more are included. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Library of Congress Prints & Photos OnlineThe Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
-
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive overview of the emergence of the modern world from 1500 to the present. Covers Europe since the Renaissance, and concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Islamic world. Funded by SCF Group License.
Need help?
Still have questions?
Visit us in person at the
- Bradenton Campus Library & Learning Center (Building 3)
- Lakewood Ranch Campus Learning Commons
- Venice Campus Dr. Bill Jervey, Jr Library
or ask us a question online.