Reference and Instruction Librarian
Library Quiz
Starting the Research Process
- Use the Research Companion database to help you find, evaluate and cite information
- Choose some of the databases from the list below or use the Quick Search box to search for items in the library
- Choose your keywords - identify synonyms and try some different searches
- Evaluate your resources - are they relevant? from a scholarly source?
- CITE anything you take from sources!
Getting Started Videos
What's a Search Strategy? (3:11)
Evaluating Sources (2:16)
APA7 Short Introduction (7:18)
Searching Databases
- Visit the libraries' Databases page to find databases by subject (e.g., Current Events, Literature) or resource type (e.g., eBooks, Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed)
- Limit your search to peer reviewed to find scholarly articles
- Make sure to use the APA Citation Guide to double check citations
- Select Full Text when available
Recommended Databases
Quick Search
Quick Search tutorial
General Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File. Funded by FEL.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator. Funded by FLVC.
- America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Full text news from major national newspapers, local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Funded by FLVC.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia. Funded by FEL.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Kick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports. Funded by SCF.
Pro/Con Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues. Funded by FLVC.
- Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Contains thousands of editorials and opinions from renowned newspaper sources and offers in-depth articles presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias. Funded by SCF.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues. Funded by FLVC.
Citing Sources
 |
|
Plagiarism is the act of presenting someone else's words or ideas without giving them proper credit, failing to use quotation marks for direct quotes, or turning in another person's work as your own.