Your Librarian
Building 3, Library & Learning Center
Why use citations?
Citations are used to give credit to the ideas of others, to document the source of a piece of information, and to avoid plagiarism! By properly citing information we build upon existing scholarship to create something new.
There are many different types of citations, and the one we use in this course is the Modern Language Association's 9th edition. This creates a standardized form that makes it easier to access information in a specific discipline; MLA style is most commonly used to format research papers and cite sources in the Liberal Arts and Humanities.
Citing Your Sources
When you quote, paraphrase, or cite an idea that is not your own you will need to provide information on your source. The SCF Librarians have compiled an MLA Guide to help you cite your sources. This information can also be found in the MLA Handbook, and the MLA Handbook Plus database listed below.
-
MLA Handbook
by
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style.
-
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA format. The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more. Emphasizing source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the crucial skills of information and digital literacy. Funded by SCF Group License.
Other Resources
The links below contain resources on how to cite different types of information (books, articles, videos, etc.), as well as how to incorporate them into your research paper (in-text and works cited). All of the information originated with the MLA Handbook, so the best one for you to use is the one that helps you the most.
-
SCF MLA GuideContains examples of the different types of citations and how to incorporate them into your paper. Put together by SCF Librarians.
-
Purdue Owl MLA GuidePut together by Purdue University, this guide contains sample papers as well as citation help.
-
Ask a LibrarianNot sure if your citations are correct? You can connect with a librarian over chat, SMS text, or email to get help with your citations. Please note that this service takes time! We are not always available to check everything on a daily basis depending on our schedules, so please plan ahead to ensure enough time to help you with your needs.
For information on how to format your paper in MLA style, watch this handy video embedded below:
Citation Generators
Citation generators are useful tools that create a citation for you, based on the information you provide. While these tools can save a lot of time, please remember to use them with caution. These generators often contain inaccuracies which can hurt your grades and make it more difficult to find your sources. If you choose to use a citation generator, always double-check the result.
The ProQuest Research Companion database offers a Citation Builder tool, located under the "Use Information" menu along the top left of the page.
-
Research Companion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
RECOMMENDED for ENC1101 students or those students writing their first college research paper. Provides videos and tips on how to choose a topic, develop a thesis statement, and organize your paper. Funded by SCF Group License.
Questions? eCampus
Still have questions?
Visit us in person at the
- Bradenton Campus Library & Learning Center (Building 3)
- Lakewood Ranch Campus Learning Commons
- Venice Campus Dr. Bill Jervey, Jr Library
or ask us a question online.