Reference & Instruction Librarian
Building 3, Library & Learning Center
Beginning Your Search
Choosing your image
-
Descriptive Essay AssignmentInstructions for the Descriptive Essay assignment. Click to download.
When you are doing research, it can be difficult to know where to start. You can use the "Quick Search" bar on the library home page to get an overview of the different resources we have, or you can start from a unique database.
Remember that when you are searching the library catalog or library databases you will search using keywords (not phrases). You can also search by artist, title, or award.
Finding books in the library
Art books can be found classified under "N"
- NA = Architecture
- NB = Sculpture
- NC = Drawing
- ND = Painting
- NE = Print Media (Printmaking)
- NK = Decorative Arts (Furniture, rugs, religious art)
Books on Photography can be found under "T"
- TR = Photography
Resources
Art Databases:
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
-
ArtStor Images This link opens in a new window
An image library for the Arts from international museums, libraries and artists' collections. Images for African-American, American History, Women's, Asian ,and Classical Art Studies. Anthropology, Architecture, Design, Medical History and other images of art, maps, drawings and more are included. Funded by SCF Group License.
-
Art Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Covers the entries from Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, & The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Funded by SCF Group License.
Biographies:
-
Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative Full Text content from Reference sources, Periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places or gender. Funded by FLVC.
Historical Context:
-
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
750+ history reference books, encyclopedias, and the full-text of 60 history magazines. This database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies, 12,000 photos and maps; and 87 hours film and video. Funded by FLVC.
-
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Rich database covering religions, art, architecture, journalism, literature, dance, history, literature, drama and comparative studies. Funded by FLVC.
-
U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
"Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror." Funded by SCF Group License.
Questions? eCampus
Still have questions?
Visit us in person at the
- Bradenton Campus Library & Learning Center (Building 3)
- Lakewood Ranch Campus Learning Commons
- Venice Campus Dr. Bill Jervey, Jr Library
or ask us a question online.