Online learning support
Need a graphing calculator?
If you need a graphing calculator, they are available for checkout at the Library's front desk. The checkout period for calculators is one week. Calculators can be returned to the drop box or the library's front desk.
The following resources are available online:
- Texas Instruments (TI) just made its software free: Check their free resources.
- DESMOS is a free software to use as a graphing calculator. Check out Desmos.
Need a tutor?
The Academic Resource Center (ARC) tutor are available virtually. You can set up an appointment online on the ARC Website.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for general research on most topics. Search articles, videos, images, and other types of documents. TIP: Type in keywords in the search boxes and put a checkmark in the option for "Full text."
- Applied Science & Technology (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes trade and industrial publications with articles from technical journals on many topics related to technology and science.
- Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowIf you need to research important figures, mathematicians, scientists, etc. this is the BEST resource! Search for people by name, occupation, nationality, etc. and get all the documents about their lives in one place.
- Gale in Context - Middle School (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis is a general reference database that gives you access to Encyclopedia articles with overviews on many different topics.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowKick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports.
- Google Scholar SCF Full Text This link opens in a new windowLook for
on the right side. For Full-text click on SCF Full Text. The far right column also often has full text sources from educational institutions and open access scholarly journals.
Books: Basic Math
Math textbooks are located in RESERVES, ask at the Front Desk.
To find other Math books (not textbooks):
-
Bradenton Library: Second Floor, Row #33.
-
Venice Library: Second Floor, Row #13.
Mathematics 1001 by Call Number: SCF/Bradenton & Venice 2nd Floor/Circulation -- QA141.15.E49 2010ISBN: 9781554077199A comprehensive study of math principles in one volume for the general reader. This practical reference provides clear and concise explanations of the most fascinating fundamental mathematical concepts.
Basic Mathematics by Call Number: SCF/Bradenton & Venice 2nd Floor/Circulation -- QA135.6.G73 2008ISBN: 9780071550154Math as easy as 1-2-3 Teach Yourself Basic Mathematics gives you the confidence to handle the math you encounter in daily life: at work, while shopping, and in home life.
Teach Yourself: Basic Mathematics by Call Number: SCF/Bradenton 2nd Floor/Circulation -- QA135.6.G73 2001ISBN: 0658021214Teach Yourself Basic Mathematics gets you up and running with all the math you need to confidently meet the numerical challenges of everyday living.
Find more books on specific topics by searching our SCF Library Catalog!
Books related to Mathematics have "Call Numbers" in the following ranges:
Subclass QA1-939 Mathematics
QA1-43 General
QA47-59 Tables
QA71-90 Instruments and machines
QA75-76.95 Calculating machines
QA75.5-76.95 Electronic computers. Computer science
QA76.75-76.765 Computer software
QA101-(145) Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic
QA150-272.5 Algebra
QA273-280 Probabilities. Mathematical statistics
QA299.6-433 Analysis
QA440-699 Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology
QA801-939 Analytic mechanics
To find these books and browse the shelves, go to:
-
In the Bradenton Library: Second Floor, Row #33.
-
In the Venice Library: Second Floor, Row #13.