Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

OER and Textbook Alternatives @SCF Library

Overview of Open Educational Resources and textbook alternatives at SCF Library and beyond. This guide is designed to help SCF faculty find, create, evaluate, and incorporate open educational resources and textbook alternatives for instruction.

The SCF Library has many resources that can contribute to textbook affordability, through the use of eBooks and scholarly journals in our academic database collections, as well as a wide variety of high quality online reference materials. Listed below are some of the resources recommended by your SCF Librarians. 

Academic eBooks across the curriculum

Ebook Central

ProQuest's eBook Central platform contains over 46,000 eBook titles. Most titles are unlimited simultaneous access - meaning that an entire class could log in at the same time. SCF Library can also purchase licenses to individual eBooks to add to this platform. The eBook Central database is easy to use. Links to chapters or whole eBooks can be embedded into Canvas. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas.

EBSCO's eBook platform contains academic, technical, and popular titles. Most are available in PDF format, and can be read on desktops, laptops, tablets, or mobile devices. SCF Librarians can also purchase individual titles to be added to this platform. Links to chapters or whole eBooks can be embedded into Canvas. 

Rittenhouse Nursing eBooks

The R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks

Springer eBooks

SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Most titles can be fully downloaded as PDF files, and are digital rights management free.

Journal Databases

 Gale's Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR allows access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Streaming Video

Digital Theatre is the world’s leading educational platform for English and the Performing Arts, including over 300 classic, contemporary and international productions.

Films on Demand is a database of streaming video covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. Videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Kanopy provides streaming films with a special focus on representations of gender and race, identity, and culture. Especially well-suited for Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies,Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.

Gen Ed Resources

ABC-CLIO collection of databases covering American Government, African American and Latino American culture, popular culture, World History, and World Religions.  

Gale’s Business Insights Essentials provides company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.

EBSCO’s Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also contains full text, non-journal content including financial data, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Entries from Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, & The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Gale Literary Sources contains full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.

 

Global Issues in Context provides global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. 

 

Issues and Controversies in History explores the great issues in history from every region of the world, from antiquity to the present. Articles are supplemented by primary source documents, biographies, timelines, images, statistical charts and encyclopedia entries.

 

Science Online presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

PubMed Health is a service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.

The Visible Body database includes interactive 3D models animations,quizzes and Human Anatomy Atlas, Muscle, Skeleton, Heart 7 Circulation and physiology animations.