Books
100 American Women Who Shaped American History by
Lively, short biographies of 100 notable women in the history of the United States, one of Bluewood Book's popular 100 SERIES. Chronologically organized, and presented in a clear, format, meticulously researched, and full of information and facts, each biography is accompanied by an image, and other features include a timeline, locator maps, a trivia quiz and an index. Features notables from Coloniaon to modern architect Maya Lin.
Call Number: CT3260 .F45 2005ISBN: 9780912517551Publication Date: 2005-05-30
1781 by
The Treaty of Paris in 1783 formally ended the American Revolutionary War, but it was the pivotal campaigns and battles of 1781 that decided the final outcome. 1781 was one of those rare years in American history when the future of the nation hung by a thread, and only the fortitude, determination, and sacrifice of its leaders and citizenry ensured its survival. By 1781, America had been at war with the world's strongest empire for six years with no end in sight. British troops occupied key coastal cities, from New York to Savannah, and the Royal Navy prowled the waters off the American coast. The remaining Patriot forces hunkered down in the hinterland, making battle only at opportunities when British columns ventured near. But after several harsh winters, and the failure of the nascent government to adequately supply the troops, the American army was fast approaching the breaking point. The number of Continental soldiers had shrunk to less than 10,000, and the three-year enlistments of many of those remaining were about to expire. Mutinies began to emerge in George Washington's ranks, and it was only the arrival of French troops that provided a ray of hope for the American cause. In a shift of strategy given the stalemate between New York and Philadelphia, the British began to prioritize the south. After shattering the American army under Horatio Gates at Camden, South Carolina, the British army under Lord Cornwallis appeared unstoppable, and was poised to regain the Carolinas, Georgia, and Virginia for the Crown. However, when General Nathaniel Greene arrived to take command of Patriot forces in the south, he was able to gradually turn the tables. By dividing his own forces, he forced the British to divide theirs, dissipating their juggernaut and forcing Cornwallis to confront a veritable hydra of resistance. 1781 was a year of battles, as the Patriot Morgan defeated the notorious Tarleton and his Loyal legion at Cowpens. Then Greene suffered defeat at Guilford Courthouse, only to rally his forces and continue to fight on, assisted by such luminaries as Francis Marion, the "Swamp Fox," and "Light Horse Harry" Lee. While luring Cornwallis north, Greene was able to gather new strength and launch a counterattack, until it was Cornwallis who felt compelled to seek succor in Virginia. He marched his main army to Yorktown on the Peninsula, upon which the French fleet, the British fleet, Greene, Washington, and the French army under Rochambeau all converged. On October 19, 1781, Cornwallis surrendered his weary and bloodied army. In this book, Robert Tonsetic provides a detailed analysis of the key battles and campaigns of 1781, supported by numerous eyewitness accounts from privates to generals in the American, French, and British armies. He also describes the diplomatic efforts underway in Europe during 1781, as well as the Continental Congress's actions to resolve the immense financial, supply, and personnel problems involved in maintaining an effective fighting army in the field. With its focus on the climactic year of the war, 1781 is a valuable addition to the literature on the American Revolution, providing readers with a clearer understanding of how America, just barely, with fortitude and courage, retrieved its independence in the face of great odds.
Call Number: E208 .T66 2011ISBN: 9781612000633Publication Date: 2011-10-20
The Civil War by
In a savage battle that pitted brother against brother, more Americans died in the Civil War than in World Wars I and II combined -- 359,000 Union soldiers, 258,000 Confederate soldiers, and thousands of civilians. In the end, however, the United States stood together as one united nation. Defining Moments: The Civil War examines the key events of this devastating war, using a treasury of historical material. This book includes a chronological overview from 1774-1865 of the events culminating in the most brutal and costly war in American history, beginning in 1774 when Rhode Island abolished slavery. In addition, the key battles are analyzed with a full documentation of the participating units, locations and durations, as well as casualty figures. This beautifully designed book takes readers back in time with photographs, historical documents, maps, cartoons of the day, and personal correspondence of key figures. The reader will experience the Civil War in amazing detail, from Lincoln's election, the secession of the South, the bloody battlefields, and the surrender of Robert E. Lee, through the Emancipation Proclamation and the Reconstruction.
Call Number: E468.3 .S95 2005ISBN: 9781592234356Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Other Useful Resources
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
DPLA-Digital Public Library of America: The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.
Library of Congress: The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
National Museum of American History: Devoted to the scientific, cultural, social, technological, and political development of the United States, the museum traces the American experience from colonial times to the present. The American History Museum’s collection contains more than three million historical objects—including the famed Star-Spangled Banner—and documents that explore the evolution of the American identity.
PALMM Digital Collections: Publication of Archival, Library, & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities and colleges of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship.
Newspapers
- America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowFull text news from major national newspapers, local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- Black Life in America (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily—for research and the study of Black Life in America.
- New York Times (Historical: 1851-2017) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from the New York Times, from 1851 - 2017
- New York Times (Current: 1985-present) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1985 - current