Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

ENC 1102: Written Communication II-Professor Murray

Library guide for Professor Murray ENC 1102 : Written Communication II

Recommended eBooks

Cover of Student Companion to Edgar Allan Poe

Student Companion to Edgar Allan Poe

Investigates Poe's legacy, from his era to ours, focusing on his poetry, tales of terror, love stories, and detective stories.

Cover of Student Companion to William Faulkner by John D. Anderson

Student Companion to William Faulkner

One of America's greatest writers, William Faulkner wrote fiction that combined spellbinding Southern storytelling with modernist formal experimentation to shape an enduring body of work. In his fictional Yoknapatawpha County—based on the region around his hometown of Oxford, Mississippi—he created an entire world peopled with unforgettable characters linked into an intricate historical and social web. An introduction to the Nobel-Prize-winning author's life and work, this book devotes opening chapters to his biography and literary heritage and subsequent chapters to each of his major works. The analytical chapters start with his most accessible book, The Unvanquished, a Civil-War-era account of a boy's coming of age.

Cover image of Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew

Taming of the Shrew

In one of Shakespeare's bawdier comedies, contemporary audiences still take great pleasure in the rapid-fire verbal battles between the shrewish Katharina and the canny Petruchio, determined to subdue Katharina's legendary temper and win her dowry.

Cover of The Awakening and selected short stories by Kate Chopin.

The Awakening and Selected Short Stories by Kate Chopin

The Awakening (1899) appears in this collection of short stories. Upon publication of the story Chopin's writing was highly praised, but the public was outraged by the content and only one edition was printed. The Awakening was rediscovered in the 1960s, when Chopin was praised for raising feminist questions. The story follows the personal discovery of a married woman of the things she did not even realize she was missing.

Other short stories: Beyond the bayou -- Ma'ame Pelagie -- Desiree's baby -- Respectable woman -- Kiss -- Pair of silk stockings -- Locket -- Reflection.

Cover of A Companion to Shakespeare's Works Vol 3

A Companion to Shakespeare's Work Vol 3: The Comedies,

 "Companion to Shakespeare's Works, " compiled as a single entity, offers a uniquely comprehensive snapshot of current Shakespeare criticism. Brings together new essays from a mixture of younger and more established scholars from around the world - Australia, Canada, France, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Examines each of Shakespeare's plays and major poems, using all the resources of contemporary criticism, from performance studies to feminist, historicist, and textual analysis.

Cover of Shakespeare for Students: The Sonnets

The Sonnets: Shakespeare for Students: Critical Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry (Vol. 3. 2nd ed.)

Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview

Image of Langston Hughes

Dictionary of Literary Biography: Langston Hughes

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here.

Book cover of Thomas Hardy

Thomas Hardy (Routledge Revivals)

First published in 1977, this concise and insightful study of the life and works of Thomas Hardy provides a thorough examination of Hardy's literary output. Alongside a brief biography of Hardy's life, Professor Page's study also spotlights his major and minor novels, his short stories, his non-fiction prose and his verse.

Cover of The Whirlwind of Passion : New Critical Perspectives on William Shakespeare

The Whirlwind of Passion : New Critical Perspectives on William Shakespeare

The Whirlwind of Passion: New Critical Perspectives on William Shakespeare is a combination of critical, linguistic, stylistic, translation and performance interpretations, providing a fresh insight into Shakespearean studies. It encompasses many different aspects of the Bard’s oeuvre, and thus explores various interpretative possibilities of the texts under scrutiny.

Image of Nathaniel Hawthorne

Nathaniel Hawthorne: A Documentary Volume (Dictionary of Literary Biography) Vol. 269

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here.

image of E. M. Forster

E. M. Forster

Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of E.M. Forster.

Cover of Faulkner at 100

Faulkner at 100

Essays in centennial celebration of William Faulkner and his achievement. In honor of his centenary the Faulkner and Yoknapatawpha Conference of 1997 brought together twenty-five of the most important Faulkner scholars to examine the achievement of this writer generally regarded as the finest American novelist of the twentieth century. The panel discussions and essays that make up Faulkner at 100: Retrospect and Prospect provide a comprehensive account of the man and his work, including discussions of his life, the shape of his career, and his place in American literature, as well as fresh readings of such novels as The Sound and the Fury, Sanctuary, Absalom, Absalom!, If I Forget Thee, Jerusalem, and Go Down, Moses.

Book cover reading Kate Chopin

Kate Chopin

Offers a critical introduction to the life and work of the American novelist.

The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms

A twenty-first century version of Roger Fowler's 1973 Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms, this latest edition of The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is the most up-to-date guide to critical and theoretical concepts available to students of literature at all levels. With over forty newly commissioned entries, this essential reference book includes: an exhaustive range of entries, covering such topics as genre, form, cultural theory and literary technique new definitions of contemporary critical issues such as Cybercriticism and Globalization complete coverage of traditional and radical approaches to the study and production of literature thorough accounts of critical terminology and analyses of key academic debates full cross-referencing throughout and suggestions for further reading. Covering both long-established terminology as well as the specialist vocabulary of modern theoretical schools, The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is an indispensable guide to the principal terms and concepts encountered in debates over literary studies in the twenty-first century.

Cover of A New Handbook of Literary Terms

A New Handbook of Literary Terms

A New Handbook of Literary Terms offers a lively, informative guide to words and concepts that every student of literature needs to know. Mikics’s definitions are essayistic, witty, learned, and always a pleasure to read. They sketch the derivation and history of each term, including especially lucid explanations of verse forms and providing a firm sense of literary periods and movements from classicism to postmodernism. The Handbook also supplies a helpful map to the intricate and at times confusing terrain of literary theory at the beginning of the twenty-first century: the author has designated a series of terms, from New Criticism to queer theory, that serves as a concise but thorough introduction to recent developments in literary study. Mikics’s Handbook is ideal for classroom use at all levels, from freshman to graduate. Instructors can assign individual entries, many of which are well-shaped essays in their own right. Useful bibliographical suggestions are given at the end of most entries. The Handbook’s enjoyable style and thoughtful perspective will encourage students to browse and learn more. Every reader of literature will want to own this compact, delightfully written guide.

Image of Susan Glaspell

Susan Glaspell

Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Susan Glaspell.

Image of Jorge Luis Borges

Bloom's Biocritiques: Jorge Luis Borges

Presents a biography of Jorge Luis Borges along with critical views of his work.

Cover of Eighteenth-Century Poetry : An Annotated Anthology

Eighteenth-Century Poetry : An Annotated Anthology

Currently the definitive text in the field and now available in an expanded third edition, Eighteenth-Century Poetry presents the rich diversity of English poetry from 1700-1800 in authoritative texts and with full scholarly annotation. Balanced to reflect current interests and "favorites" (including prominent poets like Finch, Swift, Pope, Montagu, Johnson, Gray, Burns, and Cowper) as well as less familiar material, offering a variety of voices and new directions for research and learning Includes 46 new poems with more texts by women poets and the inclusion of four additional poets (Mary Barber, Mehetabel Wright, Anna Seward, and Mary Robinson); poems reflecting new ecological approaches to 18th-century literature; and poems on the art of writing Accessible and user-friendly, with generous head notes, full foot-of-page annotations, an expanded thematic index, and a visually appealing text design

Recommended Books

Cover of A Change of World

A Change of World

A Change of World was selected by W. H. Auden for the Yale Series of Younger Poets Award. Out of print for decades, this initial collection launched the career of a poet whose work has been crucial to discussions of gender, race and class, pushing formal boundaries and consistently examining both self and society.

Cover of The Shakespeare Book

The Shakespeare Book

The Shakespeare Book brings the work of William Shakespeare to life with full-color photography, images, idea webs, timelines, and quotes that help you understand the context of Shakespeare's plays and poems. From Shakespeare's most-famous plays, such as Romeo and Juliet and Julius Caesar, to less-frequently performed works such as King John and Henry VIII, every play of the Shakespearean canon is collected in this comprehensive guide, along with his major poems and best-loved sonnets. In The Shakespeare Book each play includes an at-a-glance guide to story chronology, so you can easily get back on track if you get lost in Shakespeare's language. Character guides provide a handy reference for casual readers and an invaluable resource for playgoers, and students writing reports on Shakespeare. 

Cover of Kate Chopin: Complete Novels and Stories

Kate Chopin: Complete Novels and Stories

From ruined Louisiana plantations to bustling, cosmopolitan New Orleans, Kate Chopin wrote with unflinching honesty about propriety and its strictures, the illusions of love and the realities of marriage, and the persistence of a past scarred by slavery and war. Her stories of fiercely independent women challenged contemporary mores as much by their sensuousness as their politics, and today seem decades ahead of their time. Now, The Library of America collects all of Chopin's novels and stories as never before in one authoritative volume. 

Cover of 	Eight American poets

Eight American poets : Theodore Roethke, Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Lowell, John Berryman, Anne Sexton, Sylvia Plath, Allen Ginsberg, James Merrill : an anthology

In this generous anthology, Joel Conarroe has assembled the work of eight poets who have shaped--and to some extent defined--American verse since 1940: Elizabeth Bishop, James Merrill, Sylvia Plath, Allen Ginsberg, Theodore Roethke, John Berryman, Anne Sexton, and Robert Lowell. The 164 selections in Eight American Poets include widely anthologized works like Roethke's, My Papa's Waltz, several of Berryman's Dream Songs, and Anne Sexton's Ringing the Bells, as well as poems that are less familiar but just as haunting

Cover of Songs of innocence and of experience

Songs of innocence and of experience

"Only twenty-one copies of the 'Songs of Innocence' and twenty-seven of the complete combined work are known to survive; the edition reproduced here, known as 'Copy Z', is one of the most elaborately painted."--Intro.

Introduction -- Songs of innocence. Introduction -- The shepherd -- The ecchoing green -- The lamb -- The little black boy -- The blossom -- The chimney sweeper -- The little boy lost -- The little boy found -- Laughing song -- A cradle song -- The divine image -- Holy Thursday -- Night -- Spring -- Nurses song -- Infant joy -- A dream -- Another's sorrow -- Songs of experience. Introduction -- Earth's answer

The clod and the pebble -- Holy Thursday -- The little girl lost -- The little girl found -- The chimney sweeper -- Nurses song -- The sick rose -- The fly -- The angel -- The tyger -- My pretty rose tree -- Ah! Sun-flower -- The lilly -- The garden of love -- The little vagabond -- London -- The human abstract -- Infant sorrow -- A poison tree

A little boy lost -- A little girl lost -- To Tirzah -- The school boy -- The voice of the ancient bard.

 

Cover of American wits : an anthology of light verse

American wits : an anthology of light verse

In this book John Hollander offers a buoyant guided tour of American light verse-a tradition he pursues from Ambrose Bierce's sardonic The devil's dictionary quatrains to the latter-day comic inventions of Edward Gorey, Kenneth Koch, and James Merrill. Along the way, American wits gathers a rich harvest of couplets, clerihews, epigrams, parodies, burlesques, and other forms of fractured verse. The varied and often surprising list of contributors includes Edwin Arlington Robinson, Don Marquis, T. S. Eliot, Christopher Morley, Dorothy Parker, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ogden Nash, Phyllis McGinley, and Anthony Hecht.

Portrait of the artist ; Chant for dark hours ; Unfortunate coincidence ; Comment ; Words of comfort to be scratched on a mirror ; News item ; Song of one of the girls ; Fighting words ; Inscription for the ceiling of a bedroom ; Experience ; Neither bloody nor bowed ; Bohemia ; Story ; Frustration ; Résumé ; One perfect rose ; Ballade at thirty-five ; Healed ; Pour prendre congé ; Coda ; The danger of writing defiant verse ; The actress / Dorothy Parker (1893-1967)

Cover of The top 500 poems

The top 500 poems

Song: Go, Lovely Rose, by Edmund Waller (1606-1687) -- Page 200

Cover of The garden thrives : twentieth-century African-American poetry

The garden thrives : twentieth-century African-American poetry

Etheridge Knight: A poem of attrition/Green grass and yellow balloons/Upon your leaving/Feeling f**ked up/The idea of ancestry/Hard rock returns to prison from the Hospital for the Criminally Insane