Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101 - Prof. Stratigakis
I am Maria, your ENC1101 librarian. If you have questions, send me an email, or ask for me at the
Lakewood Ranch Learning Commons Rm 123
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and videos on many topics. Create clips and playlists.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Authoritative reference information on hundreds of significant science topics.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Kick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports.
Environmental Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Environmental case studies, scholarly articles, images and more. Complete, colorful and well laid out. Sound source for speech, presentations and research papers on the environment.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Covers environmental topics related to agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
Health & Nursing (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Three databases in one. Contains the American Psychological Association's PsycArticles, the professional nursing database CINAHL, and MEDLINE.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Quick professional summaries of diseases and health concerns. Coverage includes alternative medicine, drugs, herbs and practices. Multimedia.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Contains thousands of editorials and opinions from renowned newspaper sources and offers in-depth articles presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals indexed in MEDLINE, covering the biomedical and health fields, including clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Essays and research from major reference titles. Provides scholarship on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues.