|
Photo by Claire Anderson on Unsplash. |
Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101 - Prof. AnsonIf you have questions about resources for this assignment, ask us!: chat with an SCF Librarian
Use this Guide for the SCOTUS (Supreme Court cases) assignment only.The following link takes you to thePosition/Argumentative Essay assignment |
- SCOTUS Assignment InstructionsProf. Anson's assignment's file to download.
- Library Instruction HandoutHandout provided for Prof. Anson's SCOTUS assignment
Step 1: Background materials and selecting topic
Step 1) Get the background from the books on RESERVE:
- Visit the SCF Library Bradenton (hours) and request to see the RESERVE collection for Prof. Anson's SCOTUS assignment. Bring your SCF ID!
- These books can be checked-out to use only in the Library, to give you the opportunity to find your topic and cases, and get background information about them.
- Make sure to get the information you need to cite the book properly.
- Make copies of pages to include in your assignment.
- Return the book to be scanned at the front desk.
Step 2: In-depth research
Step 2) Research:
This assignment requires 5-8 sources (no more than 3 electronic.) You will need to find more sources in addition to the RESERVE books from Step 1.
To find these additional sources, you can use the "Library Catalog/Quick Search" and the "Library Databases".
How to use the "Quick Search":
- You can type in the case name (e.g. "McCollum v Board of Education") or the topic (e.g. "Supreme Court Religion" or "Freedom of Speech")
- The search will show you: Books / eBooks / Articles / Videos, etc.
- Click where it says GET IT. Login to get full access to electronic items, or click "REQUEST" to place a request for a physical book.
How to use the "Databases":
Click in the Databases tab
- Select some of the following from the A-Z list or from the links in the box below this one:
- Credo Reference
- Opposing Viewpoints
- CQ Researcher
- Academic Search Complete
- Type in the search box the case name (e.g. "McCollum v Board of Education") or the topic (e.g. "Supreme Court Religion" or "Freedom of Speech")
- Click "Full text" to view or read the materials.
Searching Library Databases (electronic sources)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles on a variety of topics. Make sure to click FULL TEXT to open the article.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowHas many resources on Supreme Court cases and rulings, including the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new windowIn addition to many reference articles and news sources, this database has a publication called "Supreme Court Drama" which is useful.
- New York Times (Historical: 1851-2017) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from the New York Times, from 1851 - 2010
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowSearch for "Supreme Court" and your topic keyword.
Websites (not Library databases, but reliable sources of electronic content):
- Find LawSearchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1760.
- SCOTUS official websiteYou can search under Case Documents, the "docket search". Cases older than 1995 are digitized in the National Archives.
- Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)Open access legal cases from Cornell University.
- Google Scholar SCF Full Text This link opens in a new windowGoogle plus some SCF Library databases in one search. Look for the link on the right side of the search results.
Examples of electronic sources
The following links take you to some examples retrieved from the database called "Credo Reference":
- Landmark CasesSearch for the books titled "Landmark Cases" by topic, for example "Landmark Cases: Religion"
Step 3: Citing
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
- Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
- If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
- When in doubt... ask a librarian!
Link to Citing Guides