Research Sources about Animal Farm, by George Orwell
ENC 1101 - Professor Bojanowski
TED Ed Videos
Tavlin, Noah. “What ‘Orwellian’ Really Means: Noah Tavlin.” YouTube, uploaded by TED-Ed, 1 Oct. 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=oe64p-QzhNE
Gendler, Alex. “How to Recognize a Dystopia: Alex Gendler.” YouTube, uploaded by TED-ED, 15 Nov. 2016, www.youtube.com/watch?v=6a6kbU88wu0
Biographies: Geroge Orwell
"George Orwell: A Concise Biography" Video Biography (From "Films on Demand" database)
- Biography of George Orwell (eBook)From Critical Insights (Salem Literature database)
Biography of George Orwell:
Rossi, John P. "Biography Of George Orwell." Critical Insights: Orwell, George, edited by John Rodden, Salem, 2012. Salem Online, online.salempress.com. Accessed 25 Aug. 2022, https://online.salempress.com/articleDetails.do?articleName=CIOrwell_0004&activationcode=manatee.
Whole book:
Rodden, John (Editor). Critical Insights: George Orwell, Salem, 2012. Salem Online, https://online.salempress.com/toc.do?bookMetaId=CIOrwell&activationcode=manatee.
Literature Criticism: eBooks
Selected examples of electronic books with criticism on Animal Farm:
George Orwell's Animal Farm by ISBN: 9780791040775-- Presents concise, easy-to-understand biographical, critical, and bibliographical information on a specific literary work -- Provides multiple sources for book reports and term papers with a wealth of information on literary works, authors, and major characters -- Digests of critical extracts prefaced by headnotes
Animal Farm - Critical Insights by ISBN: 1682179184Critical Insights: Animal Farm offers a multidisciplinary range of perspectives on George Orwell's classic satire. The volume of essay includes a consideration of Animal Farm's rhetorical use by contemporary British politicians, a biopolitical reading of the text, a consideration of the work within the tradition of beast fables, an assessment within the tradition of literary anthropomorphism, an analysis of Orwell's use of humor in the book, and a comparison of narrative strategies in Animal Farm and Nineteen Eighty-Four. Through this collection, readers will appreciate Animal Farm's influence on literature, politics, sociology, and history.
Understanding Animal Farm by ISBN: 9780313302015Following a literary analysis of Animal Farm, six chapters examine the historical, political, and literary issues raised by the novel. Chapters include selections relating the novel to basic tenets of Marxism, the Russian Revolution and Josef Stalin, the relation of George Orwell's life to the writing of Animal Farm, the Cold War, book reviews of the novel at the time of its publication, the American intellectual climate, and recent responses to the novel in the light of Glasnost and the collapse of the Soviet Union. Each document is preceded by an explanatory introduction, and each chapter concludes with suggested topics for written and oral exploration. This rich source of materials is ideal for interdisciplinary study of the novel.
Databases
Search for more articles, criticism, or other sources in the following databases:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by FLVC.
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and videos on many topics. Create clips and playlists. Funded by FLVC.
- Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers classic and contemporary films as well as documentaries. Titles in this collection encourage critical thinking about the society, politics, and culture. Well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses. Funded by SCF.
- Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of materials from reference works, eBooks, and literary journals. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies and more. Funded by FLVC.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Funded by FLVC.
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowSearch SCF Library and libraries worldwide through a single search. InterLibrary Loan Requests may be made in this database for items not available in the SCF Library Catalog. Please work with a librarian if you have questions.
“Animal Farm: Infographic.” Course Hero, 2022, www.coursehero.com/lit/Animal-Farm/infographic/