Reference and Instruction Librarian
Research Process
Starting the process:
- Read the assignment carefully
- Identify the assignment requirements
- What do you need to find/ research?
- Citation requirement?
- Paper length?
- Sources?
- Use the Research Companion to get started
The research process:
- Choose some databases that may be helpful
- Choose your keywords - identify synonyms and try some different searches
- Organize and evaluate information - is it relevant? from a scholarly source?
- Write draft, proofread, and ensure all citations are included
- Writer's Reference Center is a helpful resource
- CITE anything you take from sources!
Databases
General Databases:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Literary Databases:
- Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
- Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new windowThe full collection of resources from Salem Press. Includes Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, and Introduction to Literary Context series. Also contains Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and Careers series.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Argumentative Databases
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Citations
Additional Resources
How to use the library!
ENC1101 - Library Information