Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

ENC 1102 Prof. Anson: Getting Started

Resources from the SCF Libraries to prepare Prof. Anson's assignments

Welcome

 

 

          Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1102 - Prof. Anson

If you have questions, contact a librarian or use the Ask a Librarian tab on the right.

The Librarian liaison for this class is Alicia Long (email Alicia)

Research Assignment: Short Story

Research Paper: Getting ready

Your ENC1102 Research Paper requires the following sections:

  • A page (give or take) of an overview of the author’s life
  • A page (give or take) about the story in which your character appears
  • A page (give or take) analyzing the character’s impact or significance to the story

The SCF Libraries have the following resources to search for articles, books, ebooks, etc. for each of those sections.

Where to find information:

(Scroll down for examples)

 

Print:

  1. RESERVES Collection is located in the Bradenton Library - Front Desk. These items are for use in the Library only. 
  2. REFERENCE collection is located in Second Floor, Rows 47-48. These items are for use in the Library only. Recommended: Short Stories for Students, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth Century Literature Criticism (TCLC), Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (CLC).
  3. QUICK SEARCH: Search for books by using the filter "available on shelf". Items marked "Circulation" can be checked out for 3 weeks.

 

Electronic:

  1. DATABASES below for information on the author or on the story.
  2. QUICK SEARCH for all-in-one results and use filters on left for different formats.

Quick Search

Search the SCF Catalog

"Quick Search" is our Library Catalog: Find print and electronic sources: "All-in-one"

 

How to search in the Quick Search:

  1. Type in the title of the story, the name of the author, or both in the search box and click "Search".
  2. You can change the search to "Library Catalog" instead of "Everything" to get only the SCF Library.
  3. Use the  "Tweak Your Results" option on the left menu:

- Click "Available on shelf" for print sources.

- Use "Resource Type" or "Subject" to narrow down the results.

Print: The RESERVES collection

Book spines

  • Ask for these books at the SCF Bradenton Library's front desk.
  • Bring SCF ID to check out.
  • Take notes and/or photocopy the page used and the page with citation information.
  • Return book to Front Desk.

List of books available in the RESERVES collection

This list can be found in the Quick Search by searching "Textbooks" for ENC1101 Anson.

Print & Electronic: "Short Stories for Students" Collection

Cover of Short Stories for Students   

Short Stories for Students

  • Short Stories for Students is a collection of multiple volumes.
  • Search in the INDEX (at the end of each volume) or in the DATABASE's search page by title (for example "Hills Like White Elephants" or by author).
  • This collection is available both in print and electronic:

1) Print version

Located in Library, Second Floor, Reference section, Row 48.

These books cannot be checked out of the Library. You can use them in the Library only.

2) Electronic version

Find them in the database called "Gale eBooks"

Print & electronic: "Short Story Criticism" collection

Short Story Criticism book cover

Short Story Criticism

 

  • Short Story Criticism is a collection of multiple volumes.
  • Search in the INDEX (a separate booklet located on the shelf next to the books) or in the DATABASE's search page by title (for example "Hills Like White Elephants" or by author).
  • This collection is available both in print and electronic:

 

1) Print version

Located in SCF Bradenton Library, Second Floor, Reference section, Row 48.

These books cannot be checked out of the Library. You can use them in the Library only.

 

2) Electronic version

Many articles included in Short Story Criticism are included in the database Gale Literary Sources.

Search inside the database by title of the short story or by name of author.

Electronic Sources: Information about the author

  • To find biographies and articles about the author, open one of the links below and type in their name in the search box.
  • Some of the databases have a TAB on the top or a FILTER on the side that will limit the results to "BIOGRAPHIES"

Electronic sources: Information about the story and characters

In the following databases, type in the title of the story in the search box.

  • You will find many articles, make sure to look for those that are "Literature Criticism"
  • You can also add a keyword, such as: "A Rose for Emily" and "symbolism."
  • When you see an article that might be useful, send it to your email (there is an email icon or function in all databases.)
  • Remember to get the MLA citation, but don't forget to correct any mistakes and edit the format. The citations from the database aren't always correct.

Guide for citing in MLA

Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!

  • Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
  • If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
  • When in doubt... ask a librarian!

Citing Guides

Link to Citing Guides

 

Ask Us