Assignment Guide - ENC 1101: Written Communication - Lupinacci - SCF Libraries at State College of Florida, Sarasota-Manatee

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Bradenton Campus, Bldg 3, Library and Learning Center

941-752-5317

Subjects: English, Ethics & Philosophy, Humanities, Literature, Religion

Starting the process:

Read the assignment carefully
Identify the assignment requirements
- What do you need to find/ research?
- Citation requirement?
- Paper length?
- Sources?
Use the Research Companion to get started

The research process:

Choose some databases that may be helpful
Choose your keywords - identify synonyms and try some different searches
Organize and evaluate information - is it relevant? from a scholarly source?
Write draft, proofread, and ensure all citations are included
- Writer's Reference Center is a helpful resource
CITE anything you take from sources!
- Websites, articles from databases, videos, etc.
- Basically, cite anything that is not your own!

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
To open EBSCO databases, click on the "OpenAthens Login" link after you log in.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia.

CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Contains thousands of editorials and opinions from renowned newspaper sources and offers in-depth articles presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues in Context ties together news, perspectives, reference materials, primary source documents, audio, video, statistics, and more. Search "Browse Issues and Topics" to find international issue ideas. -From publisher.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Kick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports.

How to use the library!

ENC1101 - Library Information