ENC 1102 : iSearch Project - Professor Ford: Core Resources

Professor Ford's unique and insightful project allows the use of many different types of resources for research.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Core Resources : Need to find research on art and politics? Key SCF Library databases, eLibraries, digital video and more. TIP:  If still exploring the topic, use the all-in-one search to discover different issues and ideas about the topic.

Writing & Citing : Help and examples for MLA, APA and ASA citation styles.

Library FAQs : Screencasts and tutorials on how to find and use ebooks, scholarly articles and more. Don't see something you need? Let us know.

Library Info :  Library hours for both campuses, contact and other area library information.

Ask-A-Librarian : Chat, Text or eMail

Ask A Librarian

SCF Resources Useful For This Topic

Questions? WATCH:  Guide on How to Find A Scholarly Article. SCF sign in is your G#. The PIN is the last four digits of your G#.

DATABASES BY SUBJECT | SUBJECT GUIDES BY SUBJECT

 

Gale Virtual Reference contains Short Stories for Students and Poetry for Students.

Academic Search Complete has broad topical coverage of many topics. Expanded Academic ASAP covers a variety of specific literary journals ( Explicator, Studies in Romanticism, Victorian Poetry). A majority of journals are peer reviewed. Also covers social sciences and humanities. Video Demo.

Biography Resource Center + Lives & Perspectives (Gale) includes notable figures on the world stage.  The search allows for searching name, occupations and even nationality. Video Demo.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) is a wide ranging database that is excellent for finding and researching historical, world view and topical issues in various contexts. Art, anthroplolgy, archeology, history and literature journals can be searched via this database.  Video demo on how to search Humanities, Art and Social Sciences Full Text EBSCO at the same time.

JSTOR is a digital scholarly archive built by and for scholars. It is particularly strong in primary sources and authors from previous centuries. This database is best managed by using the advanced search, selecting a time period and narrowing down to publication subjects. JSTOR Demo.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) While the library catalog searches the titles, subject and keywords to this eBook collection, the Netlibrary search does a full text search. This online service includes series such as Cambridge Companions to Literature, Bloom's Notes and Cliffs Notes. While the full text search pulls up many results, this is a great way to find essays, comparisons and hard to find literary references. Video Demo.

Literature Resource Center (Gale) includes full text articles from reference books and scholarly journals. Another feature of this database is a link to The Gale Literary Index, which lists more references in print materials. Can limit search to primary source document. Video Demo.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) is a full text database that includes literary criticism, biographies, plot Recommended Databases summaries, book reviews, poems, short stories and novels.

Recommended Websites

Recommended Web Sites

Literary Criticism : The IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.

Voices of the Shuttle is edited by by Alan Liu of the University of California, Santa Barbara, English Department with a team of department graduate students and volunteers.

The Purdue University Online Writing Laboratory (OWL) : Over 200 resources including help with thesis writing, sample papers and citation information. 
" Writing a Literary Analysis" from OWL. PowerPoint.

The State College of Florida Libraries :

Bradenton Library : 941-752-5305
Venice Library : 941-408-1435
Databases |Linking to LINCCWeb