Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Family Heritage House Collection

Describes the circulating book collection on permanent loan from the Family Heritage House, Inc.

Family Heritage House Museum & Book Collections

Family Heritage House Museum

Established in 1990, the Family Heritage House Museum is a research center & museum, located in the Library & Learning Center, Building 3, 2nd floor, the museum has an array of artifacts, literature, local histories and other resources, chronicling the history and cultural achievements of African Americans. 

 

Family Heritage House Circulating Book Collection

The SCF Library houses books owned by the FHH which may be circulated.  Books from the FHH Collection may be borrowed for 3 weeks and are discoverable in the SCF Library Catalog

Research, rare books or special collections, such as the Coretta Scott King Children's Collection, owned by FHH are housed in the Museum and may only be used within the Museum and by appointment. 

 

Coretta Scott King Children's Collection

The Family Heritage House Museum owns a complete collection of the Coretta Scott King Award Winners.  This includes all author awards and many of the illustrator awards.  This Collection is for research and contains a number of autographed copies.

The Family Heritage House Museum celebrates and promotes reading to children with an annual Coretta Scott King Reading Event, every 1st Saturday of November.

To examine the CSK Collection, please make an appointment when the Museum is open to visitors. 

(941) 752-5319
MarshK@scf.edu 

https://www.familyheritagehousemuseum.com

Click here for more information on the Coretta Scott King Award