Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Library of Things

This guide has information about all the technology, gadgets, and other accouterments available for checkout from SCF Libraries.

Library of Things Information

The Library of Things Collection

SCF students & staff can check out the following items at the Library's Front Desk.

See library staff or contact Ask a Librarian if you are interested in reserving any of the items from the Library of Things collection. 

Please note that loan periods and availability vary by campus. 

Laptops models & information

 

* In-library use *

MacBook Pro (2017 Edition)

  • 2.3 GHz dual-core Intel Core i5

  • 8 GB 2133MHz LPDDR3

  • MacOS High Sierra

  • Includes: Office for Mac

  • Wireless internet (no printing)

  • Venice campus:
    MacBook Pro (2009 Edition
    )

  • Loan Period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library

  • Replacement cost: $ 2500

 

Dell Laptop

  • Dell Latitude 3470

  • Intel Core i5 6200U

  • 4 GB RAM

  • Windows 10

  • Includes: Microsoft Office

  • Wireless internet (no printing)

  • Venice campus:
    Dell Latitude E5540 & E5420

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library

  • Replacement cost: $ 910

Special laptop check-out

Long-term Laptop Loans:

Check-out of laptops for 4-week periods at a time are available for students with a determined need, not for convenience.

Students need to be referred by an SCF Staff, Coach, Advisor, or Faculty member who determines the need.

Staff: Please complete this form to make a request on behalf of a student

 

** Important: As of August 22, 2022 the request form is CLOSED, since we have no more laptops available. We will reopen it as soon as we get more returned. **

 

Laptop kits for at-risk students are available by referral from the Counseling Office. Contact Susanne Walters (WalterS@SCF.edu) if you are a student with housing needs or other at-risk situation.

 

e-Readers and tablets

 

                             

                                 

See iPad Guide    

iPad

  • iPad 2 - OS version 5.1.1 16 GB

  • Includes: Wireless internet; Standard apps for college use; Access to Library catalog, databases, etc.

  • Accessories: ZAGG case and keyboard.

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: On campus

  • Replacement cost: $ 600 (with case) + $25/day for extra days

  • Late penalty: Suspension of borrowing privileges.

  • Requirements: Signed agreement form (available at the Circulation Desk or in the FORMS tab)

Kindle (models vary)

  • Includes: Pre-loaded books for the  BSN program and for specific classes.

  • Accessories: Case, charger, instructions.

  • Venice Library Only

  • Loan period: 3 weeks (same as books)

  • Type of loan: Off campus

  • Replacement cost: Device cost depends on model + additional $10/day for extra days

  • Late penalty: Suspension of borrowing privileges.

Kindle Fire

  • Includes: Specific books pre-loaded.

  • Accessories: case, charger

  • Venice Library Only

  • Loan period: 2 hours

  • Type of loan: In library

  • Replacement costs: $ 250

 

 

 

Calculators

 

 

 

 

                            

 
Graphing calculators
 
  • Available models:

    • TI-83

    • TI-83 Plus

    • TI-84 Plus C Silver Ed.

    • TI-84 Plus CE                                             

  • Loan period: 1 week

  • Type of loan: Off campus

  • Replacement cost: $150

  • Late penalty: $10 per day and suspension of borrowing privileges.

  • Quick Study Academic Guides for TI-84 Plus available for checkout.

 

 

 

Scientific (not graphing)

  • Bradenton Campus models:

    • TI-30XA

    • TI-36X Solar

  • Venice Campus model:

    • Casio                              

  • Loan period: 1 week

  • Type of loan: Off campus

  • Replacement cost:  $50

  • Late penalty: $10 per day and suspension of borrowing privileges.

Cameras

  Fujifilm Digital Camera

 

  • Fujifilm FinePix JV100
  • 12 mega pixels
  • Accessories: Case, battery charger, SD card, USB cord

  • Loan period: 48 hours
  • Type of loan: Off campus
  • Replacement costs: $150
  • Late penalty: $10 per day and suspension of borrowing privileges.

Operating Guide

 

                             

 

  Canon Digital Camera(s)

  • PowerShot ELPH 500 HS
    • 12.1 mega pixels
  • PowerShot A1400 HD
    • 16.0 mega pixels
  • Accessories: Case, SD card, and USB cord
  • Bradenton Library Only
  • Loan period: 48 hours
  • Type of loan: Off campus
  • Replacement costs: $150
  • Late penalty: $10 per day and suspension of borrowing privileges.

Operating Guide

 

 

  Samsung Camcorder

  • Samsung SMX-F50BN SD
  • 65x Intelli-Zoom
  • Accessories: Carry case, SD card, battery charger, and users manual
  • Loan period: 48 hours
  • Type of loan: Off campus
  • Replacement costs: $200
  • Late penalty: $10 per day and suspension of borrowing privileges.

Operating Guide

Sony Handycam Camcorder

  • Sony HDR-CX405
  • HD 1920x1808 24p/60p up to 50Mbps in XAVC S
  • 9.2MP still image recording
  • Accessories: Case, SD card, battery charger, mini tripod, HDMI cord, and cleaning kit
  • Loan period: 48 hours
  • Type of loan: Off campus
  • Replacement costs: $200
  • Late penalty: $10 per day and suspension of borrowing privileges.

Operating Guide

Digital Video Camcorder

  • Besteker
  • HD 1280x720
  • 16.0 mega pixels
  • Accessories: Case, SD card, cleaning cloth, battery charger, and users manual
  • Loan period: 48 hours
  • Type of loan: Off campus
  • Replacement costs: $200
  • Late penalty: $10 per day and suspension of borrowing privileges

Webcams

A limited amount of webcams are available for long term (4-week) check-out for students taking online classes during the Covid-19 Pandemic.

webcam

Microsoft HD 500

LifeCam

Loan period: 4-week

Type of loan: Off campus

Replacement cost: 

Late penalty: $10 per day and

suspension of borrowing privileges

  Other models available  

 

Technology Accessories

                          

  Headphones

  • Models vary                          

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library

  • Replacement costs: Vary depending on model.

 

  Mouse

  • For use with laptops

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library

  • Replacement costs: $25

  Remote control

  • Screens remote control

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library (Study rooms)

  • Replacement costs: $ 20

  Portable DVD Player

  • Sylvania 9" Swivel Screen

  • Accessories: charging cord, remote, AV cables, earbuds, and case

  • Loan period: 48 hours

  • Type of loan: Off campus

  • Replacement costs: $ 150

  Microphone

  • Blue Snowball USB Microphone

  • dual capsule CD-quality microphone

  • adjustable mic stand

  • Standard headset w/ microphone also available

  • Loan period: 48 hours

  • Type of loan: Off campus

  • Replacement costs: $ 150

  Laser Pointer

  • Kensington Presenter Expert

  • Green laser (10x brighter than red laser)

  • Wireless

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library (Study rooms)

  • Replacement costs: $ 150

  Microsoft Surface Hub Accessories

  • Surface Pen

  • Keyboard

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library (Study rooms)

  • Replacement costs: $ 150

  3D Structure Sensor

  • Scans 3D objects

  • Usable with:

    • 9.7" iPad Pro

    • iPad Air 2

  • Loan period: 4 hours

  • Type of loan: In library

  • Replacement costs: $400

Operating Guide