MLA Manual
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06
MLA Resources
- MLA StyleThis resource is designed as a companion to the MLA 9 handbook. In this site, you will find practice templates, guides, sample papers, how to format your research paper, and FAQ's.
- Purdue OWLThis source contains contains resources on in-text citation and the Works Cited page, as well as MLA sample papers.
Getting Started
Welcome to the Guide for MLA 9th Edition!
Please use the tabs above to select the type of source you would like to cite.
The MLA style is most commonly used to format research papers and cite sources in Liberal Arts and Humanities. This research guide will provide you with examples of the most commonly used resources. The tabs above will present examples of work cited pages, in-text citations, as well as a formatting example.
If you are still unclear on proper citations, please contact your campus librarian or use Ask A Librarian for a quick chat.
Basic Rules
Basic rules for citing most sources:
-
Works cited must be double spaced and have a hanging indent. This means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.
-
Alphabetized by the first listed author.
-
If same author, list sources in alphabetical order.
-
-
In the titles of articles, books, webpages and most other sources capitalize each word, unless it is an article (the, an), preposition, or conjunction, unless it is the first word of a title: The Art of War, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, To Kill a Mockingbird.
- MLA Paper Example
Sample student paper formatted in MLA 9th edition
