Welcome to your library orientation research tutorial
Welcome OTH 1001 students. The following short tutorials are designed to help you with your research assignment. Please review these before attending your library orientation. After you have reviewed the materials, please take the short quiz at the bottom of this page.
Your librarian has planned some hands-on activities for the library orientation. These tutorials will prepare you to get the most out of them.
Parts of a Research Article
- Parts of a Research Article
Brief guide to the understanding the way that research articles are organized. Open the file for a quick review.
The CRAAP Test - PDF document
- The CRAAP Test
Developed by librarians at California State University, Chico. This guide sets out the criteria to consider when evaluating sources.
Click the link to open CRAAP Test document.
Avoiding Plagiarism
Recommended Databases
- Ovid Nursing eBooks This link opens in a new windowA Comprehensive, Integrated Nursing & Allied Health Portal for Practice, Education, Research, and Administration. Find journals, eBooks and more.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
- Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. PubMed specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research. NB: Choose "Log In" to create an account under MY NCBI, then Manage Filters, LinkOut and click on Libraries, find SCF and click on both boxes.
- Visible Body This link opens in a new windowThis database includes interactive 3D models animations, quizzes and Human Anatomy Atlas. Includes muscle, skeleton, heart, circulation and physiology animations.
- Acland Anatomy This link opens in a new windowAcland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains more than 300 video clips of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. The clips build complex structures step-by-step—from bone to surface anatomy—to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Ovid Nursing Journals Guide
- Ovid Guide
Download a PowerPoint guide to Ovid.
