Your Librarian
Building 3, Library & Learning Center
SCF Theater Page
Looking for All My Sons? Click on the database "Digital Theater" below, log in with your MySCF account, and enjoy!
- Digital Theatre This link opens in a new window
Video of live theatre and opera productions. Includes instruction and discussion of acting, stage production and "behind the stage" work. Funded by SCF Group License.
Plays and Scripts
- eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find relevant eBooks on a wide range of academic disciplines. Read online, search within the eBook, highlight, take notes and bookmark pages. Download eBooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device. Funded by SCF.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Consumer, popular, technical and some academic eBooks. Device agnostic. Read on desktop, laptop, tablet or mobile device. Funded by SCF.
- eBooks (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Reference, academic, and general interest eBooks. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, title, or any Boolean search method. Funded by SCF Group License.
- OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Popular fiction and nonfiction eBook and audiobook collection perfect for recreational reading and some research. Downloading Overdrive software or app required. Funded by TBLC.
- National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection: Volumes I & II bring the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.’s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. Funded by FLVC.
Drama & Theater Videos
- Digital Theatre This link opens in a new window
Video of live theatre and opera productions. Includes instruction and discussion of acting, stage production and "behind the stage" work. Funded by SCF Group License.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window More than 590 full-length feature films for classroom use. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles for including literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, Academy Award® winners. Funded by SCF.
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and videos on many topics. Create clips and playlists. Funded by FLVC.
- Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers classic and contemporary films as well as documentaries. Titles in this collection encourage critical thinking about the society, politics, and culture. Well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses. Funded by SCF.
- National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection: Volumes I & II bring the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.’s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. Funded by FLVC.
Recommended Library Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
African American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
More than 80 journal articles that provide original, peer-reviewed scholarly arguments on such complex topics as the notion of a post-racial society and the long-term efficacy of Reconstruction.
Contains biographies of such famous political and social figures as W.E.B. DuBois, Barack Obama, Frederick Douglass, and Mary McLeod Bethune as well as such fascinating contemporary figures as Amiri Baraka, Muhammad Ali, Drake, and Oprah Winfrey. Primary and secondary sources, including the complete WPA Slave Narratives collection, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics. Also contains photographs, maps, and other images.
Art Online (Oxford)
Covers the entries from Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, & The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
ArtStor Images on JSTOR
An image library for the Arts from international museums, libraries and artists' collections. Images for African-American, American History, Women's, Asian ,and Classical Art Studies. Anthropology, Architecture, Design, Medical History and other images of art, maps, drawings and more are included.
Biography In Context (Gale)
Authoritative Full Text content from Reference sources, Periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places or gender.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase)
Bloom’s Literature contains critical essays on thousands of writers and works, synopses, essay topics, print and audio author interviews, as well as performance videos.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale)
Provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Rich database covering religions, art, architecture, journalism, literature, dance, history, literature, drama and comparative studies.
JSTOR
Archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO)
Essays and research from major reference titles. Provides a higher level of scholarship than Wikipedia or Google on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues.
Digital Magazines
- Classical MusicA classical music magazine brought by the BBC Music Magazine
- Flipster Digital Magazines (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. Funded by SCF.
Theater on the Web
- Broadway.orgThe Broadway League's official on-line headquarters for Broadway information in NYC and across North America.
- Actors' Equity AssociationActors’ Equity Association is the labor union representing American actors and stage managers in the theatre.
- Florida Professional Theatres AssociationNetworking and sharing to empower Florida's live, professional theatre industry.
- Theatre Communications GroupTheatre Communications Group (TCG) exists to strengthen, nurture, and promote professional theatre in the U.S. and globally.
- Stage Directors and Choreographers SocietySDC is the theatrical union that unites, empowers, and protects professional Stage Directors and Choreographers throughout the United States.
- USITTUnited States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT) was founded in 1960 as an organization to promote dialogue, research, and learning among practitioners of theatre design and technology.
Today it has grown to include members at all levels of their careers and has embraced the new technologies being used in entertainment. USITT is now the leader in life-long learning opportunities for the entertainment design and technology industry.
Local Theatres & Performing Arts Groups
- Asolo Repertory & FSU/Asolo ConservatoryAsolo Repertory Theatre, Florida’s premier professional theatre, is one of the most important cultural forces in the Southeastern United States. A center for theatrical excellence, Asolo Rep stages up to 15 productions every season, spanning a diverse repertoire of newly commissioned plays, bold reinterpretations of contemporary and classical works, and provocative new musical theatre experiences.
- CreArte LatinoCreArte Latino Cultural Center was founded in 2012 as a creative hub for the Latino/Hispanic community in Sarasota and Manatee Counties. The nonprofit organization seeks to forge a bilingual cultural exchange between Latinos/Hispanics and the community at large through the arts and education, including theater productions, book clubs, classes, workshops and collaborations with artists from the area and throughout Latin America.
- Florida Studio TheatreFlorida Studio Theatre remains firmly committed to making the arts accessible and affordable to as many people as possible. Under the leadership of Producing Artistic Director Richard Hopkins, FST develops theatre that speaks to our living, evolving, and dynamically changing world. Hip and historical, entertaining and challenging, we are the theatre where the street meets the elite — where everyone is welcome to engage in the art of theatre.
- The Island PlayersThe Island Players, Inc. is an organization dedicated to providing artistic experiences for the communities of Anna Maria Island and its neighboring cities through the presentation of stage productions.
- Manatee Performing Arts CenterThe mission of the Florida Cultural Group, Inc. is to create, entertain and strengthen an artistic, creative, curious, and thriving community by bringing people together.
- Sarasota BalletMission: We enrich lives, captivate emotions. and strengthen the community through the art of dance.
Vision: To infuse our community with the highest quality and diversity of dance in America. - The Sarasote PlayersThe Sarasota Players is Sarasota’s community theatre, dedicated to delivering quality productions and keeping the community engaged with the arts. The Sarasota Players seeks to provide an artistic outlet for locals and visitors alike to experience live theatre and live theatre training.
- Urbanite TheatreUrbanite Theatre is committed to creating visceral, shared experiences by fearlessly lifting up the boldest new voices in theatre. We believe in inclusive, artist-first storytelling, daring honesty, and the powerful connectivity of an intimate space.
- Westcoast Black Theatre TroupeWestcoast Black Theatre Troupe (WBTT) was founded in December 1999 as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. Our mission is to produce professional theatre that promotes and celebrates African American history and experience, engages a broad base of patrons and audiences, supports the development of a dynamic group of aspiring artists and builds confidence in youth of color.