Skip to Main Content

Book Awards for Children and Young Adults

Recommended readings based on the most important awards given to literature in the U.S. and the World.

The Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal

Seal of the Newbery Award medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery.

It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Click here to all previous Newbery winners.

The books below are available at the SCF Libraries


Newbery Medal 2023

Newbery Medal 2022

Newbery Medal 2021

Newbery Medal 2020

Newbery Medal 2019

Newbery Medal 2018

Newbery Medal - Previous winners

If you want to find previous Newbery winners and honors, see this list and search for the title in our Quick Search.