Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Industry Professions Instructor Guide
A virtual toolbelt for teaching engineering and industry.
Library liaison (Bradenton)
Library Services Available
SCF Librarians are available to visit classes to teach:
* Information literacy concepts
* Research skills
* Citation: MLA & APA
In person, online (MS Teams), or hybrid (in person with Teams) modalities available.
For more information or to request instruction, click here.
Custom Library Guides
* Database links, eBooks, reading lists and other helpful resources organized and in one place.
* Accessible through the library homepage or integrated directly into Canvas.
* Samples: Gator Engineering, Engineering Technology
* Contact your library liaison to get started.
* Desktop computers available in the Bradenton library with Solidworks.
* 3d printing & scanning
* "Low tech" makerspace with cutting board, craft supplies and other resources.
* Ozobot, Snap Circuits and other learning tools.
* Large format printer.
* For more information & policies
Industry & STEM databases
These databases are more likely to contain information that is relevant to engineering. Other databases not listed may also be relevant but depending on your goals, you may find that these databases are more focused.
Computer Science (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.--From Publisher
Today's Science (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
In-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Contains articles that help place news and discoveries in context, and interviews with scientists that bring the research to life.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Authoritative reference information on hundreds of significant science topics.
Entrepreneurship Elective Resources
Business Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains company profiles, investment information and industry reports.
Business Entrepreneurship (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Small business and entrepreneurship resource. Search by industry or business type, business topics and business plans.
Business Insights Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains financial reports, company comparisons, industry profiles, SWOT reports, market share and financial reports. Also includes, company histories.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage for regional business news for more than 40 active U.S. and Canadian business publications. Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.
USA.gov for Science
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Note: This link directs to an outside website operated by the US government instead of an SCF database.