What is a database?
What is a database?
A database is an electronic archive of various materials that are usually but not always organized around a central theme or discipline. Some are not specific any particular subject area and are intended to be comprehensive.
What is a scholarly article?
A scholarly article is an essay, paper, book chapter etc. that has been published in a peer reviewed source such as a journal or scholarly book.
What is peer review?
Peer review is a process by which experts on a topic review a work before publication to check for errors and determine whether the overall quality of the submission meets high standards.
STEM Databases
PROGRAM DATABASES
These databases are more likely to contain information that is relevant to construction management technology. Other databases not listed may also be relevant but depending on your goals, you may find that these databases are more focused.
STEM Resources
- Computer Science (Gale) This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.--From Publisher
- Today's Science (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowIn-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Contains articles that help place news and discoveries in context, and interviews with scientists that bring the research to life.
- Science in Context This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative reference information on hundreds of significant science topics.
Entrepreneurship Elective Resources
- Business Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowContains company profiles, investment information and industry reports.
- Business Entrepreneurship (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSmall business and entrepreneurship resource. Search by industry or business type, business topics and business plans.
- Business Insights Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new windowContains financial reports, company comparisons, industry profiles, SWOT reports, market share and financial reports. Also includes, company histories.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowJournal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage for regional business news for more than 40 active U.S. and Canadian business publications. Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.
- USA.gov for ScienceScience.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Note: This link directs to an outside website operated by the US government instead of an SCF database.
General Research
All Purposes Research Tools & Databases
These databases are searchable archives of articles, journals, research papers, references, images, videos, and other media. Some but not all material qualifies as primary sources or scholarly / peer reviewed sources.
For best results try searching for different combinations of words and phrases related to your topic and use the tools available in advanced search to sort results by type of source, subject, publication date and more.
- Research Companion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowRECOMMENDED for ENC1101 students or those students writing their first college research paper. Provides videos and tips on how to choose a topic, develop a thesis statement, and organize your paper.
Tip: Start here if you're finding the entire research / writing process confusing or intimidating.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File.
Tip: This database also allows you to browse topics and sources if you're not exactly sure what you're looking for.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
Tip: Come here when you can't find what you need in more narrowly focused databases. Video tutorial available.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowResearch overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
Tip: Features "hot" issue reports that are helpful for finding interesting topics for research and gaining a basic familiarity with the issue.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new windowViewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
Tip: Excellent resource for discovering controversies and exploring different points of view about meaningful issues.
- Demographics Now (Gale) This link opens in a new windowReliable statistics on demographics, consumer spending and markets. Good resource for persuasive speeches, argumentative essays and discussion posts requiring credible resource support. Primary source.
News & Current Events
News and Current Events
Information and perspectives for a more general audience. Free access to many global and local news outlets for SCF students & staff.
- America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowFull text news from major national newspapers, local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- Bradenton Herald Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the Bradenton Herald from 1989 to the present. Articles can be downloaded in PDF format, or saved to Google Drive.
- Flipster Digital Magazines (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFlipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device.
- New York Times (Current: 1985-present) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1985 - current - World News Digest (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowContains a wealth of material and a dynamic interface that makes it easy to explore the events that shape our world. World News Digest frames events for research and is the place to start any reference project.