Find print books & eBooks from your SCF library
Find your next book:
- SCF Library CatalogType the name, author, or topic you are looking for in the Quick Search bar.
Use "Advanced Search" to refine your results or search by an author, subject heading and more. - Libby by OverdriveMany popular titles are available in the user friendly Libby App for iOS and Android. Note: scholarly articles and professional journals are not generally available on Libby.
The books on this page are presented as examples of what may be available and relevant to the Construction Management Technology program as supplementary reading or research. Instructors and program managers are encouraged to submit recommended reading lists for addition to this guide and purchase requests for print media to kirchet@scf.edu
eBooks
eBooks
Composite Materials in Engineering Structures by
Composite materials such as fiber-reinforced composites, aggregate composites, and natural fiber reinforced composites have been used widely in engineering structures in various industries. Composite laminates, especially fiber reinforced metal laminates (FRMLs) have been used extensively in aerospace structures. Composite laminates are materials that involve some combination on a macroscopic scale of two or more different primary structural engineering constituents such as polymers, metals, ceramics and glasses. This book presents current research from across the globe in the study of composite materials, including the effects of thermo-oxidation on composite materials and structures at high temperatures; damping in composite materials; fatigue and fracture of short fiber composites; and solutions for postbuckling of composite beams.
ISBN: 9781617611445Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Advances in Air Conditioning Technologies by
This book highlights key recent developments in air conditioning technologies for cooling and dehumidification with the specific objectives to improve energy efficiency and to minimize environmental impact. Today, air conditioning, comprising cooling and dehumidification, is a necessity in commercial and residential buildings and even in many industrial processes. This book provides key update on recent developments in air conditioning systems, cooling cycles and innovative cooling/dehumidification technologies. Key technologies related to cooling include heat-driven absorption and adsorption cooling and water-based dew point evaporative cooling. Technologies connected with dehumidification involve new generations of adsorbent-desiccant dehumidifiers, liquid-based desiccants and membranes that sieve out water vapor from air. Losses in cooling cycles and thermo-economic analysis for a sustainable economy are also judiciously documented.
ISBN: 9789811584763Publication Date: 2020-10-22
Fundamentals of Residential Construction by
The leading guide to professional home construction, updated and expanded Fundamentals of Residential Construction is the definitive guide to single family and multifamily home building that details every step of the construction process. From siting and foundations to finishing details, this book provides a complete walk-through of professional home construction. Over 1,200 drawings and photographs animate the textbook, while interactive supplementary online resources help facilitate an understanding of the material. This fourth edition accommodates the latest developments in materials and methods, including new coverage of sustainable building and energy efficiency, multifamily construction, prefabricated building components, and CAD/BIM planning tools in residential construction. Authoritative coverage of wood light-frame construction, building systems, industrialized fabrication, insulating concrete forms, light-gauge steel and masonry construction, multi-family buildings, and more provides a solid foundation in residential construction methods, tools, and processes. Building a home requires a deeply integrated understanding of materials, structures, codes, and management procedures. Because the process involves such a broad array of considerations and challenges, construction professionals must regularly draw on a clear body of knowledge to keep a project running smoothly. This book helps you lay the groundwork of expertise required to successfully complete a residential project. * Learn the advantages and disadvantages of common materials and systems * Understand site preparation, foundations, and framing * Delve into the details of roofing, finishing, and energy efficiency * Understand heating/cooling, plumbing, and electrical options * Examine the latest codes, costs, and management best practices Designing and constructing a home presents a unique project dynamic; people's homes are their sanctuaries, where they make the memories of a lifetime. They must be designed to be lived in, not simply "used." Lifetime costs play a major role in decision-making, materials must be carefully chosen and sourced, and spaces must be structured to be efficient yet enjoyable. Fundamentals of Residential Construction shows you how to bring it all together to turn a project into a family's cherished home.
ISBN: 1118977998Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Introduction to AutoCAD 2020 by
Master the complexities of the world's bestselling 2D and 3D software with Introduction to AutoCAD 2020. Ideally suited to new users, and relevant for both AutoCAD 2020 and AutoCAD 2021, this book will be a useful resource for drawing modules in both vocational and introductory undergraduate courses in engineering and construction. Experienced users will also find the updated images, commands and software information to be essential reading in order to adapt to the latest AutoCAD interface. A comprehensive, step-by-step introduction to the latest release of AutoCAD. Covering all the basic principles and acting as an introduction to 2D drawing, it also contains extensive coverage of all 3D topics, including 3D solid modelling and rendering. Written by a member of the Autodesk Developer Network. Hundreds of colour pictures, screenshots and diagrams illustrate every stage of the design process. Worked examples and exercises provide plenty of practice material to build proficiency with the software. Further education students will find this an invaluable textbook for City & Guilds AutoCAD qualifications as well as the relevant Computer Aided Drawing units of BTEC National Engineering, Higher National Engineering and Construction courses from Edexcel. Students enrolled in Foundation Degree courses containing CAD modules will also find this a very useful reference and learning aid.
ISBN: 0367417391Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Modern Trends in Research on Steel, Aluminium and Composite Structures by
Modern Trends in Research on Steel, Aluminium and Composite Structures includes papers presented at the 14th International Conference on Metal Structures 2021 (ICMS 2021, Poznań, Poland, 16-18 June 2021). The 14th ICMS summarised a few years' theoretical, numerical and experimental research on steel, aluminium and composite structures, and presented new concepts. This book contains six plenary lectures and all the individual papers presented during the Conference. Seven plenary lectures were presented at the Conference, including "Research developments on glass structures under extreme loads", Parhp3D - The parallel MPI/openMPI implementation of the 3D hp-adaptive FE code", "Design of beam-to-column steel-concrete composite joints: from Eurocodes and beyond", "Stainless steel structures - research, codification and practice", "Testing, modelling and design of bolted joints - effect of size, structural properties, integrity and robustness", "Design of hybrid beam-to-column joints between RHS tubular columns and I-section beams" and "Selected aspects of designing the cold-formed steel structures". The individual contributions delivered by authors covered a wide variety of topics: - Advanced analysis and direct methods of design, - Cold-formed elements and structures, - Composite structures, - Engineering structures, - Joints and connections, - Structural stability and integrity, - Structural steel, metallurgy, durability and behaviour in fire. Modern Trends in Research on Steel, Aluminium and Composite Structures is a useful reference source for academic researchers, graduate students as well as designers and fabricators.
ISBN: 9781000459418Publication Date: 2021-06-20
Future Directions in Energy Engineering by
Future Directions in Energy Engineering: Challenges, Opportunities, and Sustainability presents new advances and research results in theoretical, experimental, and practical sustainable energy engineering. Contributions cover case studies to explore and analyze technological advancements alongside practical applications to help readers better understand the relevant concepts and solutions necessary to achieve clean energy and sustainable development. The book brings together the latest developments in the emerging areas of intelligent power systems, green energy, and technology. Coverage includes: Electric power generation, transmission, and distribution; Power system economics, operation, and control; Energy storage and cybersecurity for smart grids; Energy efficiency in building designs and management; Sustainable materials for buildings; Integration of renewable energy sources in buildings; Greening urbanization and urban settlements. The book offers approaches to help engineers and researchers in sustainable energy engineering technologies solve practical problems affecting their daily work.
ISBN: 9783031620416Publication Date: 2024-09-04
Construction Technology Print Books
Foundations of Safety Science by
How are today's 'hearts and minds' programs linked to a late-19th century definition of human factors as people's moral and mental deficits? What do Heinrich's 'unsafe acts' from the 1930's have in common with the Swiss cheese model of the early 1990's? Why was the reinvention of human factors in the 1940's such an important event in the development of safety thinking? What makes many of our current systems so complex and impervious to Tayloristic safety interventions? 'Foundations of Safety Science' covers the origins of major schools of safety thinking, and traces the heritage and interlinkages of the ideas that make up safety science today. Features Offers a comprehensive overview of the theoretical foundations of safety science Provides balanced treatment of approaches since the early 20th century, showing interlinkages and cross-connections Includes an overview and key points at the beginning of each chapter and study questions at the end to support teaching use Uses an accessible style, using technical language where necessary Concentrates on the philosophical and historical traditions and assumptions that underlie all safety approaches
Call Number: T55 .D399 2019ISBN: 9781138481787Publication Date: 2019-04-17
Taming the Sun by
How solar could spark a clean-energy transition through transformative innovation--creative financing, revolutionary technologies, and flexible energy systems. Solar energy, once a niche application for a limited market, has become the cheapest and fastest-growing power source on earth. What's more, its potential is nearly limitless--every hour the sun beams down more energy than the world uses in a year. But in Taming the Sun, energy expert Varun Sivaram warns that the world is not yet equipped to harness erratic sunshine to meet most of its energy needs. And if solar's current surge peters out, prospects for replacing fossil fuels and averting catastrophic climate change will dim. Innovation can brighten those prospects, Sivaram explains, drawing on firsthand experience and original research spanning science, business, and government. Financial innovation is already enticing deep-pocketed investors to fund solar projects around the world, from the sunniest deserts to the poorest villages. Technological innovation could replace today's solar panels with coatings as cheap as paint and employ artificial photosynthesis to store intermittent sunshine as convenient fuels. And systemic innovation could add flexibility to the world's power grids and other energy systems so they can dependably channel the sun's unreliable energy. Unleashing all this innovation will require visionary public policy: funding researchers developing next-generation solar technologies, refashioning energy systems and economic markets, and putting together a diverse clean energy portfolio. Although solar can't power the planet by itself, it can be the centerpiece of a global clean energy revolution. A Council on Foreign Relations Book
Call Number: TJ810 .S48534 2018ISBN: 9780262037686Publication Date: 2018-03-02
Careers If You Like Working with Your Hands by
People who don't want to sit at a desk all day or don't like the idea of spending years in higher education have thousands of career opportunities available to them. From becoming a makeup artist to learning the plumbing trade, these people use their hands and their minds to get out in the world and do something practical, useful, and enjoyable. What the jobs entail, what they pay, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Call Number: YA TH159 .A54 2019ISBN: 9781682825990Publication Date: 2019-08-01
The American Construction Industry by ISBN: 9780367654382Publication Date: 2021-08-20The American Construction Industry meticulously chronicles the evolution of the construction industry from its roots in the medieval guild system to the high-tech jobsite of tomorrow. While celebrating more than two millennia of progress and innovation, this resource for students and professionals uncovers the ways of working that crossed the Atlantic with the earliest European settlers and will continue to define building trades in the United States today and in the years and decades to come. Full color illustrations bring the past to life and provide visual links to the present day.
