SLS 1301: Career Explorations: Resume Writing and Interview Skills

Knock 'em Dead Resumes

Expert advice for writing job-winning resumes! Learn to write a resume that: Stands out in a resume database Passes the recruiters' six-second scan test Resonates with savvy hiring managers At a time when every job seeker needs an edge, Martin Yate, CPC, shows you how to beat the competition. Using his 25+ years of experience, he has built a practical, easy-to-follow approach to writing killer resumes. This new edition of the perennially bestselling guide includes cutting-edge advice on the latest and most effective resume-writing tactics and has completely new sample resumes. With Knock 'em Dead Resumes, 11th Edition, you will grab employers' attention--and score the job you want!

Expert Resumes for Career Changers

- A vast and varied collection of hundreds of attractive and effective resume samples, written by professional resume writers and targeted to career changers. - Step-by-step instructions for writing winning resumes. - Situation-specific employment trends and career strategies. - Appendix of helpful online resources.

15-Minute Cover Letter

This book distills revolutionary and proven cover letter advice into six quick chapters about writing and using cover letters and other job search correspondence. The book offers a collection of dozens of professionally written cover letter samples along with step-by-step advice for creating attention-getting letters of your own. Bonus content offers tip on resume writing and job search success.

How to write a successful cover letter : ace your application

How to Use Marketing Techniques to Get a Great Job

When we apply for a job, we are essentially trying to sell ourselves. If we understand the process of marketing, we can make that sale a lot easier. This requires a plan that includes a deep understanding of our target audiences, an understanding of our strengths and weaknesses, an understanding of the benefits we can offer, and a knowledge of the 4 Ps, product, place, price and promotion. Add to this, an ability to differentiate and position ourselves in the crowded marketplace and to use promotional tactics to rise to the top of the applicant pool, we can get the job of our dreams. When we master these skills, we make the chore of getting a great job, the job we want, more a certainty than a hopeful wish. This book will show you how to network better, how to create an effective email pitch, write a powerful resume and cover letter, and how to persuade recruiters that you offer the most value to satisfy their needs. This book will make you a pro at marketing yourself!

Lose the Resume, Land the Job

"'Lose the Résumé' breaks down every aspect of job hunting, explaining what matters and what doesn't." --The New York Times Book Review Lose the resume and land that coveted job Gone are the days of polishing up your resume and sending it out at random. At every level today, you need to "lose the resume" in order to land the right job. In other words, you have to learn to tell a story about yourself that speaks to your competencies, purpose, passion, and values. Lose the Resume, Land the Job shares the new rules of engagement: How you must think, act, and present yourself so you can win. Based on inner exploration drawn from the IP of the world's largest executive recruiting firm, the book gleans insights and stories (the good, the bad, and sometimes the ugly) from Korn Ferry recruiters across the globe who work with thousands of candidates each day. It helps you gain a deeper perspective on who you are, what you're passionate about, the cultures in which you fit, the kind of bosses you should work for, and where you can bring the most value to organizations. Includes assessments, questionnaires, and other tools Candid advice for young professionals through middle managers Offers trusted guidance from the same firm that has shown 8 million executives how to achieve their career goals, and that puts a professional in new job every three minutes Helps you build a plan for the future so you can contribute more to the next employer Getting a job and, more importantly, building a career has never been more complex. Lose the Resume, Land the Job helps you score the positions that align with your passion and match your attributes -- and that will put you on a trajectory toward bigger and better things.

Everything Resume Book

A resume is like the first thirty seconds of a blind date-one with a prospective employer. That's all the time you have to get a hiring authority's attention and-hopefully-an interview. A bad resume will absolutely eliminate you from the competition. Building a strong resume is the single most important step in landing a new job. The Everything Resume Book, 3rd Edition is your one-stop resource for crafting a resume that will highlight your skills and experience to get you the job you want. This hands-on guide offers helpful hints on format and presentation and includes the most up-to-date guidelines for using the Internet in your job search. This completely revised and updated edition includes new information on: Job boards and the best Web resources for job seekers Using resumes as a personal brand The advantages and disadvantages of video resumes Social networking sites in the job search Generation gap issues relating to resumes Resume blogs Bursting with more than 100 sample resumes for a wide range of professions, this guide contains the information you need to command a prospective employer's attention and score that all-important interview.