Newspapers
- America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Full text news from major national newspapers, local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Funded by FLVC.
- New York Times (Current: 1985-present) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1985 - current. Funded by FLVC.
- Washington Post (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Published in Washington, D.C., the Washington Post is among the most influential American newspapers together with The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. Funded by FEL.
Databases for Background Information
- Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, dictionaries, and encyclopedias. Funded by SCF.
- Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative Full Text content from Reference sources, Periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places or gender. Funded by FLVC.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Wide ranging credible scholarship on many topics. Literature, short stories, poetry, science and social sciences are well covered. This is a great database to begin research. It is a sound academic replacement for Wikipedia. Funded by FEL.
- Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
The full collection of resources from Salem Press. Includes Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, and Introduction to Literary Context series. Also contains Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and Careers series. Funded by SCF.
Statistics-Library Databases
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Kick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports. Funded by SCF.
Statistics
Find other useful statistics with these resources
CIA World Factbook: The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, presents the basic realities about the world in which we live. We share these facts with the people of all nations in the belief that knowledge of the truth underpins the functioning of free societies.
Pew Research: Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
USAFacts: USAFacts is a not-for-profit, nonpartisan civic initiative making government data easy for all Americans to access.
United States Census Bureau: The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.