What is this page (Newspapers)
The news is often called the first draft of history. While time is always moving forward and more complete accounts of events take time to piece together, newspapers document how people experienced and understood events as they happened.
The following are archives of newspapers in SCF's digital collection.
Newspapers
- African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
More than 80 journal articles that provide original, peer-reviewed scholarly arguments on such complex topics as the notion of a post-racial society and the long-term efficacy of Reconstruction.
Contains biographies of such famous political and social figures as W.E.B. DuBois, Barack Obama, Frederick Douglass, and Mary McLeod Bethune as well as such fascinating contemporary figures as Amiri Baraka, Muhammad Ali, Drake, and Oprah Winfrey. Primary and secondary sources, including the complete WPA Slave Narratives collection, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics. Also contains photographs, maps, and other images. Funded by SCF Group License. - America's Historical Newspapers (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of primary source historical U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and the 20th Century. Complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, cartoons and more. Funded by SCF.
- America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Full text news from major national newspapers, local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Funded by FLVC.
- Florida's Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search over 80 Florida newspapers in one search. Funded by FEL.
- New York Times (Current: 1985-present) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the New York Times, from 1985 - current. Funded by FLVC.
- Washington Post (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Published in Washington, D.C., the Washington Post is among the most influential American newspapers together with The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. Funded by FEL.