Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Education Faculty Guide: Education Faculty

Library resources for faculty teaching Education courses

Welcome

SCF Library services for faculty teaching Education courses

Your subject liaison librarian (Bradenton)

Profile Photo
Alicia K. Long (she/ella) - SCF
Contact:
Call or email me.
También hablo español
(941) 752-5404

Your assigned librarian (Venice)

Theresa portrait

      Theresa Smith-Ennis

Contact:

SmithET@SCF.edu

(941) 408-1435

Services

                           Image of brain

Instruction:

Librarians can present orientations or lessons to your students:

  • How to research in education topics
  • Children's literature
  • Documentation (MLA-APA)

Lessons can be in person, virtual (Teams), or hybrid.

Check our menu of topics and modalities & request a lesson!

Image of a page

Custom pages with resources:

"LibGuides": Include lists of recommended databases.

Add links to specific ebooks, articles, etc.

Page can be embedded in Canvas seamlessly.

Contact your librarian liaison to get started.

Person in  speaker podium

Special events:

Collaborate with the librarians to host an event.

Organize a "Storytime", "Literacy Program" etc.

Use the Children's Literature collection and our spaces.

Contact us with your ideas!

Resources

Children's Literature & Young Adult (YA) Literature 

The SCF Libraries have special collections of Children's Literature (CHILD) located on our second floor (Bradenton & Venice Libraries), starting in section PZ7.

                  Children's books                                       YA area

 

Education Databases

 Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - Education Source - ERIC -

Educators Reference Complete (Gale) - Jstor

& many more!

 

Collections:

Books stacked

Books & eBooks:

  • Search our "Quick Search" catalog.
  • Login to request the book or open the ebook.

Videos & eVideos:

  • Includes DVD and streaming videos.
  • Search our "Quick Search" catalog.
  • Login to request the book or open the ebook.

Course Reserves:

Textbooks: 
  • Make sure we have a copy of your textbook.
  • Look for textbooks in "Quick Search"
  • Select "Library Textbooks" in your search

 

Articles:

  • Journal articles, magazines, newspapers.
  • The "Quick Search" retrieves from databases
  • Or go to specific databases (A-Z or by subject)

 

Paper

Spaces:

Study space books and lamp

Study rooms

By reservation or open spaces.

 

"Faculty only" room*:

Meet with your students at the Library.

* Bradenton Campus.

Reserve a room!

 

Technology:

Computer and film image

    At the Libraries:

  • Computers, printers, scanners.
  • Editing software (Adobe suite)

    Check-out:

  • Video recording equipment
  • Cameras, microphones, ring light 

Ask for availability at Front Desk