Librarian Introduction
Welcome to the Library Guide for Prof. Cobb, ENC 1101
I am Russell Reece, your library liaison. If you need help, you can e-mail me at reeced@scf.edu, or ask for me at the Bradenton campus library, building 3.
And don't forget you can always access Ask a Librarian for some help!
Research Quick Tips
Start here if you're new to college research or need a refresher!
- Research Companion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowRECOMMENDED for ENC1101 students or those students writing their first college research paper. Provides videos and tips on how to choose a topic, develop a thesis statement, and organize your paper.
- What is a Scholarly Source?What does it mean for a source to be scholarly? The short answer is that it was written by an expert to high standards of accuracy and evidence but click here for a more thorough explanation.
- Make sure your sources are fresh.Strive for relevance and accuracy. Use these tips to make sure your information passes this sniff test.
- SCF Writing CoachesDon't know if you need to put a comma there? Not sure what a thesis statement is? Want to talk to a person instead of relying on apps? SCF Writing coaches have your back!
Picking a Topic
When picking a topic its important to make sure its the "right size." Information on a topic that is too broad will be hard to fit in a short writing assignment but a topic that is too narrow or specific might mean you struggle to find enough valid information.
Try to avoid being too subjective.
- For example: if you're trying to argue that a President was good or bad, then you should decide how you are going to define good or bad.
- If a President is good or bad because of how they handled the economy, how do you decide what is a good or bad economy?
- If a President is good or bad because of other things they did or did not do, then why does this matter? How could this situation have been improved or been worse?
How would you go about gathering evidence to support these claims?
Resources to help with topic selection
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowResearch overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
- Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowUnderstand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Contains thousands of editorials and opinions from renowned newspaper sources and offers in-depth articles presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new windowViewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
- Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowEssays and research from major reference titles. Provides scholarship on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues.
- Science in Context This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative reference information on hundreds of significant science topics.
- Find the complete list of databases hereGenerally when you're starting your research, its easier to use a database that is focused on your subject area. You can sort the database list by Subject to see your best bets!
MLA Citation
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
- Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
- If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
- When in doubt... ask a librarian!
Link to Citing Guides
Library Skills Quiz
QR code link to this assessment:
Deeper Research
These databases contain scholarly articles from experts in their fields, the results of experiments, and other higher level information. These resources are a bit more challenging to use but will take you to materials that will improve your understanding of a topic.
Try using multiple search strategies or use Advanced Search tools to find out more on your topic.
Don't get discouraged! The writers whose works you are reading followed a very similar process of trial and error and assembling a coherent narrative out of the pieces of evidence that they could find. Their reference pages represent many, many, many hours of careful searching, reading, and analysis.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Larger than Expanded Academic One File.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowKick-start your research with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides statistics, studies and customizable reports.
- SCF Quick SearchYou can search almost everything we have access to from our homepage. There is also an Advanced Search option available from the results screen that can help you refine your search. Where possible you should still use a database devoted to your subject, it is a lot more efficient.