Welcome to this SCF library guide
What is the EPI?
The EPI is an alternative route that leads to full Professional Certification to become educators in the state of Florida for grades Pre-Kindergarten to 12th grade. It is designed for those who hold a Bachelor's Degree outside of the field of education. This certification is used by the Florida Department of Education (FLDOE.)
For information about the program, contact:
EPI Coordinator: Araceli Cumbo (941) 408-1481 - CumboA@SCF.edu
About this Guide:
This guide was created by the SCF Libraries to support the research and information needs of students in the EPI program.
Please contact an SCF Librarian if you need assistance with online resources or library services.
Selected books and eBooks
Teach Boldly by
ISBN: 9781564847942Teach Boldly: Using Edtech for Social Good is a guide for educators ready to apply innovative practices, meaningful technology use and global collaboration to drive the change they want to see in the world. Readers will learn how to create a customized plan for education innovation, with strategies for constructing agile classroom environments, digital storytelling and communicating across lines of difference, and prioritizing feedback and active listening.Teacher Preparation at the Intersection of Race and Poverty in Today's Schools by
ISBN: 9781607098676Teacher Preparation at the Intersection of Race and Poverty in Today's Schools introduces the reader to a collection of thoughtful works by authors that represent current thinking about teacher preparation.Small Teaching by
ISBN: 9781118944509Employ cognitive theory in the classroom every day. Research into how we learn has opened the door for utilizing cognitive theory to facilitate better student learning.Shaping the Future with Math, Science, and Technology by
ISBN: 9781610481168Shaping the Future with Math, Science, and Technology examines how ingenuity, creativity, and teamwork skills are part of an intellectual toolbox associated with math, science, and technology. The book provides new ideas, proven processes, practical tools, and examples useful to educators who want to encourage students to solve problems and express themselves in imaginative ways.FTCE General Knowledge Test Secrets Study Guide by
ISBN: 9781609717001Our comprehensive FTCE General Knowledge Test Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test.- FTCE Professional Educator byISBN: 9781607877721This is a comprehensive study guide for the Florida FTCE teacher certification test for Professional Educator. It covers all competencies and skills defined by the state of Florida. It includes hundreds of sample test questions with full rationales explaining each answer.
Online content
Recommended Databases:
Search inside these databases to find peer-reviewed articles, eBooks, and more related to education topics:
- Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures content on a wide array of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, teacher evaluation, and much more.---From Publisher
- Educators Reference Complete (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty, such as: technology, bilingual education, health education, testing and others.
Also focuses on issues in: administration, funding, policy and more. - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center. Comprehensive scholarly education database with full text back to 1966.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.