Guides related to Education
Online content
Recommended Databases for Education Topics
Search inside the following databases to retrieve peer-reviewed articles, eBooks, and more on topics related to education, early childhood, education and technology, etc.
Please contact a librarian if you need assistance when conducting research or citing these sources.
- Educators Reference Complete (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty, such as: technology, bilingual education, health education, testing and others.
Also focuses on issues in: administration, funding, policy and more. - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center. Comprehensive scholarly education database with full text back to 1966.
- Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures content on a wide array of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, teacher evaluation, and much more.---From Publisher
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- Google Scholar SCF Full Text This link opens in a new windowLook for
on the right side. For Full-text click on SCF Full Text. The far right column also often has full text sources from educational institutions and open access scholarly journals.
Children and Youth Collections
Library Collections of Literature for Youth
The SCF Libraries have special book collections for children and youth. These collections are located mainly in the Bradenton Campus, but these books can be requested and delivered to any campus by clicking on "Place a Hold" in the catalog (Quick Search).
Children's Literature Collection (CHILD): Picture Books
Located in the Bradenton Library's SCF Collegiate School Reading Room (3-141) and now also in the Venice Library (building 300)!
This collection consists of mainly picture books. Most award winners are included, such as books that received the Caldecott Medal and other awards that recognize excellence in representation of diverse experiences, such as the Coretta Scott King Medal (African American), the Pura Belpré Award (Latinx) and the Schneider Family Award (Disability experience), among others.
Young Adult Literature Collection (YA): Books for 6th-12th grades
Located in Bradenton Library's SCF Collegiate School Reading Room (3-141) and in the Venice Library (first floor).
This collection consists of books for middle school and high school students. It is an updated and very diverse collection of classics as well as the newest titles in the YA genre. It includes award winning books, the Sunshine State Young Readers Award (SSYRA) list for 6-8, the Florida Teens Read list (9-12), a collection of graphic novels, etc. It also includes winners of national awards such as the Michael L. Printz Award, the Stonewall Award (LGBTQ), and ethnic award winners (African American, Latinx, Asian/Pacific, Native American, etc.)
New arrivals!
Redefining Teacher Education and Teacher Preparation Programs in the Post-COVID-19 Era by ISBN: 9781799882985Publication Date: 2021Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, teacher preparation programs modified their practices to fit the delivery modes of school districts while developing new ways to prepare candidates. Governmental agencies established new guidelines to fit the drastic shift in education caused by the pandemic, and P-12 school systems made accommodations to support teacher education candidates. The pandemic disrupted all established systems and norms; however, many practices and strategies emerged in educator preparation programs that will have a lasting positive impact on P-20 education and teacher education practices.
The elementary school teacher technology guidebook : 21 questions and 282 answers by ISBN: 1648023894Publication Date: 2021This guidebook is designed to be the elementary school teacher's friend in addressing a wide variety of questions regarding the use of educational and instructional technologies. It can serve as a companion and guide through the myriad challenges and opportunities related to the effective use of technology in one's classroom and school.
Handbook of Research on Challenging Deficit Thinking for Exceptional Education Improvement by ISBN: 9781799888604Publication Date: 2022The Handbook of Research on Challenging Deficit Thinking for Exceptional Education Improvement unites current theory and practices to communicate the next steps to end the current harmful practices and experiences of exceptional students through critical analysis of current practices, mindsets, and policies. With the information this book provides, practitioners have the power to implement direct and explicit actions across levels to end the harm and liberate our most vulnerable populations.Educators for Diverse Classrooms: A Case Study Approach to Equity by
ISBN: 9781475851106Publication Date: 2020Given the constantly changing student demographics in our public schools, teacher educators are tasked with preparing teacher candidates with reflective and critical teaching insights for reaching the needs and identities of all of our students. The authors contend that teacher educators can use controversial case study narratives to help encourage reflective thought on the ethical decision-making teachers face in complicated and sensitive issues.
Handbook of Research on Teaching Diverse Youth Literature to Pre-Service Professionals by ISBN: 9781799873754Publication Date: 2021Perspectives and identity are typically reinforced at a young age, giving teachers the responsibility of selecting reading material that could potentially change how the child sees the world. This is the importance of sharing diverse literature with today's children and young adults, which introduces them to texts that deal with religion, gender identities, racial identities, socioeconomic conditions, etc.
Childcare Professionals: A Practical Career Guide by ISBN: 9781538159262Publication Date: 2022Welcome to the childcare field! If you are interested in a career as a childcare professionals, you've come to the right book. What exactly do these people do on the job every day? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress?Multi-Tiered Systems of Support for Young Children by
ISBN: 9781681251943Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) is a framework for delivering effective and efficient services and supports to meet the needs of all young children and their families so they can achieve essential developmental and early academic learning outcomes.
Deaf Education and Challenges for Bilingual/Multilingual Students by ISBN: 9781799881810Publication Date: 2021Deaf Education and Challenges for Bilingual/Multilingual Students is an essential reference book that provides knowledge, skills, and dispositions for teaching multicultural, multilingual, and immigrant deaf and hard of hearing students globally and identifies the challenges facing the inclusion needs of this population. This book fills a current gap in educational resources for teaching immigrant, multilingual, and multicultural deaf students in learning institutions all over the world. Covering topics such as universal design for learning, inclusion, literacy, and language acquisition, this text is crucial for classroom teachers of deaf or hard of hearing students, faculty in deaf education programs, language instructors, students, pre-service teachers, researchers, and academicians.Critical Pedagogy for Early Childhood and Elementary Educators by
ISBN: 9789400753952Among the welter of books on critical pedagogy, this volume will be especially valued for its direct focus on early years and elementary educators. Benefiting from the considered views of two veteran teachers of critical pedagogy, the volume is far more than a knowledge-rich resource, offering as it does vital support in applying the tenets of critical pedagogy to classroom practice.Educating for Social Justice in Early Childhood by
ISBN: 9780367246983Bringing together scholarship and examples from practice, this book explores ways in which early childhood curriculum - including classroom practices and community contexts - can more actively engage with a range of social justice issues, democratic principles and anti-oppressive practices.Why Science and Art Creativities Matter by
ISBN: 9789004396111Why Science and Arts Creativities Matter is a ground-breaking text which significantly extends current understandings of STEAM and debates about individuation of disciplines vis- -vis transdisciplinary theory.
