OER and Textbook Alternatives @SCF Library

Promotes the awareness and adoption of open educational policies, practices, and resources. Membership includes hundreds of colleges in 27 US states and 2 Canadian provinces. CCCOER is part of the global Open Education Consortium.

Lumen Learning creates digital course materials that replace expensive textbooks in high-enrollment college courses.

The Open Education Group conducts research on the impact of OER adoption on a range of educational outcomes and shares methodological and conceptual frameworks for studying the impact of OER adoption.

OER Commons was created by the Institute for Study of Knowledge Management in Education, a Silicon Valley-based nonprofit. It supports training and professional development of educators as well as access to OER materials.

New Zealand based nonprofit that provides leadership, international networking and support for educators and educational institutions to achieve their objectives through Open Education.

SPARC is a global coalition committed to making Open the default for research and education. SPARC empowers people to solve big problems and make new discoveries through the adoption of policies and practices that advance Open Access, Open Data, and Open Education.

List of AIM approved OER textbooks

Open US History textbook from Stanford University Press

Indexes courses and textbooks from all over the Internet. Read reviews by members evaluating every included item.

Courses and textbooks from MIT.

NOBA Project - OER textbook alternatives for introductory psychology

Nonprofit based at Rice University. Creates peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbooks, available in free digital formats and for a low cost in print.

Licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. Reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities. Can be downloaded for free, or printed at low cost.

Hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation, Wikibooks offers 2,900 textbooks, categorized by subject, completion status and reading level. Many of the books are available for download as PDF files.

Free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.

Scholarly publishing and repository services for departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California.

Provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content, open and available to the world.

DigiNole, Florida State University's digital repository, provides online access to thousands of unique and historical materials, as well as the products of original research by the FSU community.

Works deposited include student research posters, abstracts, presentations, capstones, Honors Theses, Dance and Music performance recitals, faculty papers, preprint publications, conference proceedings, and technical reports.

Includes student and faculty research as well as local historical collections including Sanibel history and the Minnie L. Gatewood Diaries.

The Center's digital collections focus on local and regional materials of historical, scientific, cultural, and educational importance. FIU Libraries' digital preservation program adheres to international standards and best practices, documenting technical, administrative, preservation, and rights management metadata, along with the archival digital files, which are deposited in the Florida Digital Archive.

Florida Memory chooses materials for digitization that illuminate significant events and individuals in the state's history, and help educate Floridians and millions of other people around the world about Florida history and culture.

A cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. PALMM projects may involve a single university or may be collaborative efforts between a university and partners within or outside of the state university system.

The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) hosts more than 300 outstanding digital collections, containing over 13 million pages, covering over 78 thousand subjects in rare books, manuscripts, antique maps, children's literature, newspapers, theses and dissertations, data sets, photographs, oral histories, and more for permanent access and preservation. Through UFDC, users have free and Open Access to full unique and rare materials held by the University of Florida and partner institutions.

Thousands of open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Nonprofit open access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization. Currently publishes ten open access scientific journals.

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an open access repository devoted to the rapid dissemination of scholarly research in the social sciences and humanities.