Skip to main content
 

Faculty Services

Information and resources for faculty

Welcome, faculty!

The SCF Libraries provide a wide range of resources and services for you. 

Find your librarian: department liaisons

SCF Librarians are available for consultation about specific resources to support teaching and learning, development of assignments that support information fluency, and the use of technology to enhance the discovery of knowledge. 

We can come to your office for an individual consultation, or you can meet with us in our offices at the Bradenton or Venice libraries or at the learning commons at Lakewood Ranch.

You can also have a virtual chat with your librarian in Teams or over the phone.

Contact one of the librarians listed in the Find your Librarian page to arrange a virtual consultation!*

 

*Specific Covid-19 resources and services are listed in the Covid-19 & SCF Libraries faculty guide.

 

Resources for your professional practice:

 

For your personal enrichment:

As SCF employees, faculty also have access to our collections of popular and recreational readings (books, ebooks, and audiobooks), free subscriptions to electronic magazines (Flipster database,) DVDs and streaming films (Feature Films database), and many other resources for your personal interests. 

Customized instruction lessons

Select one or more options from the menu below and place your request here: 

Submit your request for library instruction

 

Information Fluency Instruction Menu

Option # Title / Suggested time Modality* Content Assessment Mapping
1

Welcome to the Library

10-15 min

In person
  • Welcome
  • Librarian introduction
  • Basic services & policies

Optional: Bradenton LLC Building Tour (allow more time)

​   -------

2

Overview of Library Services

15 min

In person

or

Online*

  • Library services
  • Library resources (print & digital)
  • Library website overview
   --------
3

General Research: Basics

30-40 min

In person
  • How to research with Library resources
  • Types of sources and purposes
  • How to find books, eBooks, & more
  • How to use Databases with examples/recommended

ACRL Framework:  Research as Inquiry

Dearing: Category C: Key/Transferrable Skills - Management of Information

4

General Research: Advanced

30-40 min

In person
  • Advanced research strategies
  • Searching tips and tools in catalog and databases
  • Applying filters and other techniques to refine results

ACRL Framework: Research as Inquiry + Scholarship as conversation

Dearing: Category C: Key/Transferrable Skills - Learning Resources + Knowledge Base.

5

Specific Topics Research

30-40 min

In person

** Requires previous faculty/librarian collaboration **

  • Recommended resources for specific topics
  • Searching techniques and suggestions for specific disciplines or topics.

ACRL Framework: Research as Inquiry + Scholarship as conversation

Dearing: Category C: Key/Transferrable Skills - Learning Resources + Knowledge Base.

6

Documentation/Citing

15 min

In person 

or

Online*

  • Brief overview of plagiarism and documentation/ethics
  • How to cite most common sources
  • How to find and use citation tools or guides

ACRL Framework: Information has Value

Dearing: Category A: Definition of Knowledge and Understanding - Ethical Issues

7

Evaluation of Sources

15 min

In person 

or

Online*

  • How to evaluate sources for accuracy, relevance, etc.

Optional: Activity using an evaluation tool, e.g. CRAAP test or other (allow more time).

ACRL Framework: Research as Inquiry + Information has Value

Dearing Category B: Cognitive/Intellectual Skills  - Evaluation 

8

General Research (Basic or advanced)

or

Custom lesson

 

In person

or 

Online*

** Requires previous faculty/librarian collaboration **

  • Special lesson, activity, or series of lessons aligned with a specific learning outcome, topic, project, or assignment.
  • Can be presented live/synchronous on Teams, or in a series of videos and tutorials.
  • Note: We do not recommend videos of the whole lesson, but we can offer video tutorials for different sections or specific topics.

Please collaborate with librarians to design a lesson for your specific needs.

   Varies

 

*Modalities:

In Person: Takes place in a classroom in the Library building (any campus) or in the classroom if needed.

Online: We offer the following possibilities

  • Synchronous: A librarian will join your class live, in real time, in Teams, Canvas, Zoom, or any platform you use.
  • Asynchronous: A librarian will record a short video or recommend an existing one, for students to watch at their convenience.

 

In addition: Make sure to check the Online Workshops presented throughout the semester in Teams: https://scf.libcal.com/calendar/Events

 

 

 

Submit your request for library instruction

Please contact any of the librarians if you have questions.

Lesson examples

Examples of Library Instruction Sessions

 

Options 2 + 8: Online presentation example

Option 2: Overview of Services (short video introducing the Librarian and the Library Services)

+ Option 8: Basic Research: Librarian presentation (short video) + Assignment follow up + Assessment (all embedded to Canvas)

 

Options 1 + 2 + 3 : ENC1101 Library Instruction (1 hour-session in person):

Option 1: Welcome

+ Option 2: Overview of services

+ Option 3: General Research: Basics

 

Options 1 + 2 + 5: SPC 1608 Library Instruction (1 hour-session):

Option 1: Welcome

+ Option 2: Overview of services

+ Option 5: Specific Topics Research: Databases and resources for specific assignments, such as Persuasive/Argumentative Speeches, etc.

 

Options 1 + 4: ENC 1102: Literature Criticism Instruction (50 min-session)

Option 1: Welcome 

+ Option 4: General Research: Advanced (40 min): Review of basic use of library databases and catalog, followed by specific search strategies for Literature Criticism databases, including overview of types of sources (reference versus criticism), specific databases, etc.

 

Options 1 + 5: BSC 2085: Anatomy & Physiology Research Instruction (50 min-session)

Option 1: Welcome

+ Option 5: Specific Topics: Demonstration and practice with using "Visible Body" and "ACLAND" databases, including tools such as note-taking, searching for disorders related to the systems, etc.