Getting Started
Research in Biology
Types of information sources:
Reference = General / Overview
Scholarly Journals = Specific / Research Studies
Search strategy:
Use "keywords": Only the important words.
Use "filters" for types of sources.
Citing:
In-text = As you write, mention the source of the information. Parenthesis is the most common, for ex: (Garcia, 2021).
References = List of all sources at the end, in specific format (APA).
Recommended Databases
- Gale in Context - Middle School (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFor middle and high school. Includes reference and articles.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia, mostly reference (overviews of the topics)
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowPresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
- Today's Science (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowIn-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Contains articles that help place news and discoveries in context, and interviews with scientists that bring the research to life.
Encyclopedias
- UXL Complete Life Science ResourceIn this online encyclopedia you can search alphabetically for overviews of topics.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of ScienceSearch entries alphabetically. All topics related to science.
Citing Examples
In-text:
Bacteria are organisms which, along with viruses, are the smallest organisms that exist in our planet, and they are composed of one single cell (Kusinitz & Hoyle, 2014).
References:
Kusinitz, M., & Hoyle, B. (2014). Bacteria. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.), The Gale Encyclopedia of Science (5th ed., Vol. 1, pp. 455-463). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3727800251/GVRL?u=lincclin_mcc&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=c651cfc4
Note: The sources listed in the References at the end should be:
- Listed in alphabetical order.
- Indented (hanging indentation): First line all the way to the left, second & following lines are indented 0.5"
- Double spaced.