Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

EVR 1001 Reading List

Introduction to Environmental Science

All 15 Topics in One Page

 

Topic 1: Introduction to Environmental Science

"Environmental Science." Encyclopedia of Life Science. ScienceOnline.

Subtopic 1: Sustainability

"Principles of Sustainability." ScienceOnline.

Subtopic 2: The Scientific Method

"Scientific Method." Encyclopedia of Physical Science. ScienceOnline.

Case Study: Apo Island (see video--->)

Case Study: Apo Island Video. If you can't review video below, please use this link.

 

 

 

Topic 2: Matter and Energy

"Application of Physics and States of Matter." Atoms and Materials, Physics in our World. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 1: Atoms and Molecules

"Atoms & Elements." Carbon Chemistry, Essential Chemistry. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 2:Chemical and Physical Changes

"Chemical Reactions." Essential Chemistry. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 3: Conservation of Matter

"Law of Conservation of Matter." Encyclopedia of Physical Science. ScienceOnline.

"Materials Balance Approach." Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies, New Edition. ScienceOnline.

"Mass Balance." The Facts On File Dictionary of Environmental Science, Third Edition. Science Online.

 

Subtopic 4: Laws of Thermodynamics

"Laws of Thermodynamics and the Environment." Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies, New Edition.

 

Case Study: Endocrine Disruptors


"
Environmental Endocrine Disruption and Its Potential Impacts on Public Health and the Environment in New Jersey." Department of Environmental Protection. State of New Jersy. 2003.

 

Fire Burning Wood.

"Fire." Scarletina. MorgueFile.

"Burning a log in a fireplace is an example of a chemical reaction.
When the wood burns, it reacts with the oxygen in the air.
This chemical reaction forms ash, water vapor,
and carbon dioxide gas."
Chemical Reactions. Chemical Reactions, Essential Chemistry. ScienceOnline.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 3: Ecosystems

"Ecosystem Health." Sustainability, Green Technology. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 1 Earth’s Cycles

"Earth's Formation, Structure, and Cycles." Processes That Shape the Earth, Physics in Action. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 2: Nitrogen Cycle

"Biodiversity and the Nitrogen Cycle." Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 3: Ecosystem Services

"Ecosystem Services." Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 4: Trophic Levels

"Ecosystems." Encyclopedia of Life Science.
ScienceOnline.

Case Study: Sarasota Bay (see video)

 

 

 

 

Topic 4: Biodiversity and Natural Selection

"Biodiversity." Encyclopedia of Life Science. ScienceOnline.

"Natural Selection." Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. ScienceOnline.

and watch the following video:

"Interdependence of Life." Interdependence of Life. ScienceOnline.

 

Case Study: Darwin’s Finches

"Biodiversity in Darwin's Finches."
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. ScienceOnline.

 

Case Study: Darwin’s Finches

 

"Finch." SnapIt. MorgueFile.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 5: Human Populations

"Human Population." Humans and the Natural Environment, Our Fragile Planet. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 1: Demographic Transitions

"Demographic Transition." The Facts On File Dictionary of Environmental Science, Third Edition. ScienceOnline.

 

Case Study:
"
China's One-child Policy Increasingly Being Questioned." PRI's The World. 2013. Read or Listen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 6: Biomes and Extinction

"Aquatic Biomes." Encyclopedia of Life Science. ScienceOnline

and

"Measuring Species and Extinction." Biodiversity, Green Technology. ScienceOnline.

 

Case Study: Passenger Pigeons

"The Dawn of De-Extinction : Are You Ready?" Stewart Brand.

Case Study: Passenger Pigeons
"The Dawn of De-Extinction : Are You Ready?"
Stewart Brand.

Transcipt Available on Ted.com under video. Show Transcript. Select language.

 

 

 

 

Topic 7: Food and Agriculture

Subtopic 1: Food Security

"Food for the Future." Humans and the Natural Environment, Our Fragile Planet. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 2: Biotechnology in Crop Production

"Biotechnology in Crop Production." Biotechnology on the Farm and in the Factory, Biotechnology in the 21st Century. Science Online.

and

"Ethics and Politics of Genetically Modified (GM) Foods." The Ethics of Biotechnology, Biotechnology in the 21st Century. Science Online.

 

Subtopic 3: Sustainable Agriculture

"Sustainable Agriculture." Geosphere, Our Fragile Planet. Science Online.

and

"Evolution of Resistance." Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. ScienceOnline.

and

"Growing Food." Humans and the Natural Environment, Our Fragile Planet.

 

Case Study:Monsanto

"Farmer's Fight With Monsanto Reaches The Supreme Court." NPR. 2013.

and

"The March to Stop Monsanto: Taking Back Our Food, Our Farms, Our Democracy and Our Planet."
Dave Murphy. Huffington Post. 2013.

and

CORRECTED: TIMELINE: History of Monsanto Co. Reuters. 2009.

and

"Supreme Court Rules for Monsanto, Says Farmer Violated Genetically Modified Soybeans’ Patent." Robert Barnes. Washington Post. 2013.

 

 

 

Case Study: Monsanto

 

"Farmer's Fight With Monsanto Reaches The Supreme Court." NPR. 2013.
Read or Listen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 8: Bioaccumulation of Toxins and Risk Assessment

"Populations at Risk from Environmental Toxins." Pollution, Green Technology. ScienceOnline.

and

"Bioaccumulation versus Biomagnification." ScienceOnline.

 

 

Case Study: Operation Cat Drop - 2 Readings

"Operation Cat Drop." WHO Newsletter. Page 6.

and

"Parachuting Cats and Crushed Eggs : The Controversy Over the Use of DDT to Control Malaria." American Journal of Public Health. 2008.

 

 

 

Case Study :Operation Cat Drop - 2 Readings

"Operation Cat Drop." WHO Newsletter. Page 6.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 9: Climate

"Climate." Encyclopedia of Earth and Space Science.

and

"Climate." The Facts On File Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment.

 

Subtopic 1: The Atmosphere

"Atmosphere." Earth Chemistry, Essential Chemistry. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 2: History of Climate Change

"Climate Change Through Earth History." Climate, Our Fragile Planet.

 

Subtopic 3: Global Warming and Climate Change (see video)

"Climate Change: Global Warming and Greenhouse Effect." Series: Environmental Issues and Human Impact. ScienceOnline.

and

"Global Warming: Ecosystems, Adaptation, and Extinction." Changing Ecosystems, Global Warming. ScienceOnline.

 

Case Study:The Ozone “Hole”

"Ozone Hole Over the Arctic and Antarctic." Polar Regions, Our Fragile Planet. ScienceOnline.

 

 

Subtopic 3: Global Warming and Climate Change (see video)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 10: Air Pollution

"Air Pollution." Encyclopedia of Physical Science. ScienceOnline.

and

"Air Pollution." Encyclopedia of Pollution. ScienceOnline.

and

"Air Pollution." Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate, Revised Edition. Science Online.

 

 

Case Study: London Smog

"The Killer Fog That Blanketed London, 60 Years Ago." Christopher Klein. History.com. 2012.

 


From: "Air Pollution." Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate, Revised Edition. Science Online.

 


From: "Air Pollution." Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate, Revised Edition. Science Online.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 11: Water

Subtopic 1: Point and Nonpoint Source Pollution


"Point Source and Nonpoint Source Pollution." Encyclopedia of Pollution. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 2: Water Pollution

"Food and Water Hazards." Pollution, Green Technology.

 

Subtopic 3: Hydrologic Cycle (video)

"Earth's Hydrologic Cycle." Geocycles. Science Online.

 

Subtopic 4: Aquifers

"Aquifer." Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate, Revised Edition. Science Online.

 

Subtopic 5: Water Shortage

"Sustainable Water Use." Humans and the Natural Environment, Our Fragile Planet.

 

Case Study: The Aral Sea - 3 readings

"The Aral Sea Crisis." Columbia University.

and

"Shrinking Aral Sea." NASA Earth Observatory.

and (video)

"Drying of the Aral Sea: Timelapse." Google Earth Outreach. 2012.

 

Case Study: The Aral Sea - 3 Readings
"Drying of the Aral Sea: Timelapse." Google Earth Outreach. 2012.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 12: Geology and Earth’s Resources

 

Subtopic 1: Plate Tectonics

"Plate Tectonics." Processes That Shape the Earth, Physics in Action. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 2: Resource Depletion

"Resource Depletion." The Facts On File Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Society. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 3: Rocks and Minerals

"Rocks." That Shape the Earth, Physics in Action. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 4: Mining

"Mining." Geosphere, Our Fragile Planet. ScienceOnline.

 

Subtopic 5: Hydraulic Fracturing

"The Shale Oil and Gas Revolution, Hydraulic Fracturing, and Water Contamination:
A Regulatory Strategy." Thomas W. Merrill. Columbia University. 2013.

Subtopic 6: Geologic Hazards

"Geological Hazards." Encyclopedia of Earth and Space Science. ScienceOnline.

 

Case Study: Desertification and the Dust Bowl - 4 readings

"Desertification." Science Online.

and

Desertfication Worldwide. Science Online.

and

Timeline: Surviving the Dust Bowl, 1931-1939. American Experience. PBS.org.

and

"Fighting the growing deserts, with livestock: Allan Savory at TED2013." TED Blog. 2013.

 

 

"Fighting the growing deserts, with livestock: Allan Savory at TED2013." TED Blog. 2013.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 13: Energy

Subtopic 1: Energy

"Renewable Energy and Earth's Energy Sources." Renewable Energy, Green Technology.

 

Subtopic 2: Peak Oil

"Have We Reached Peach Oil?" Josh Clark. Howstuffworks.com.

"Oil Field." Penywise. http://www.morguefile.com/creative/Penywise

Case Study: Fukushima

"Fukushima Accident 2011." World Nuclear Association. 2013.

Additional Resources:

"Total Energy." U.S. Energy Information Administration. EIA.gov. 2013.

FLP Energy Sources:
"Providing Clean, Affordable Electric Service." Florida Power and Light. FPL.com.

Renewable Fuel Standard:
"Renewable and Alternative Fuels." United States Environmental Protection Agency. EPA.gov.

Grasshopper Effect

Georgia's Fuel Source:
"Facts and Figures." Georgia Power. Georgiapower.com.

North Florida Fuel Source:
"Gulf Power Facts 2013". Gulf Power. Gulfpower.com

AL Fuel source (only 6% hydroelectric):
"Generating Plants." Alabama Power. Alabamapower.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topic 14: Hazardous Waste and Urbanization

 

Subtopic 1: Hazardous Waste

"Renewable Energy and Earth's Energy Sources". Renewable Energy, Green Technology.

 

Subtopic 2: Urbanization

"Urbanization." Geosphere, Our Fragile Planet. ScienceOnline.

 

Additional Resources: Injection Wells:

Florida Geological Survey - Map Series 6. Regional Oil and Gas Well Location Maps. State of Florida, Department of Environment.

"Underground Injection Control Program." State of Florida, Department of Environment.

"Classes of Wells." United States Department of Environment.

"Injection Well Classes." State of Florida, Department of Environment.

 

Case Study: Curitiba, Brazil - 2 videos.

"Brazil- Curitiba, a Sustainable City." Agence Française Développement. 2010.

and

"Jaime Lerner Sings of the City." TED.com. 2007.

 

 

 

 

Topic 15: Environmental Regulations

 

"Environmental Regulations Overview." Encyclopedia of Pollution. ScienceOnline.

 

Case Study: CCA Violation

"Tyson Foods, Inc., to Pay $3.95M Penalty for Clean Air Act Violations at Facilities in Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska ." United States Environmental Protection Agency. EPA.gov.

 

 

"Air Pollution." Click. MorgueFile. http://www.morguefile.com/creative/click