Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The SCF Libraries are currently open online and on site for students & staff
Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC 1101. Kathryn Overbeck.
Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101. Kathryn Overbeck
I am Andrea Burgess, your ENC1101 librarian. If you have questions, you can send me e-mail at BurgesA@scf.edu, or ask for me at the
Bradenton Library & Learning Center, Bldg. 3
The following document gives you an overview of the SCF Libraries website and where to start your research:
Starting your research:
Databases recommended for ENC1101 are listed in the box below.
Use "keywords", combine them and try synonyms.
Select FULL TEXT when available.
Email the document to yourself or save it to One Drive/Google Docs for safekeeping.
Paraphrase, quote, or summarize information and CITE it.
COPY + CORRECT the citations (go to the Guide or ask a librarian.)
Research Assignment Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
CQ Researcher (Sage)
Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
Flannery O'Connor Assignment Databases
Biography In Context (Gale)
Authoritative Full Text content from Reference sources, Periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places or gender.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Contains full text access to the literature series Short Story Criticism and Poetry Criticism.
Searching books & ebooks
Type-in your topic in the box below to search the "Library Catalog".
This "all-in-one search" includes books, ebooks, videos, articles & more:
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
When in doubt... ask a librarian!