ENC 1101 - Professor Gravano
Welcome to the assignments and research guide for ENC 1101 Prof. Gravano.
If you have a question please email Reeced@scf.edu or stop by the Bradenton Campus Library, Building 3.
Getting Started
Click on the box for a brief overview of the SCF Library website
Citing Guide
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
-
Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
-
If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
-
When in doubt... Ask a Librarian!
Recommended Databases
Click on box for instructions on how to starts using the EBSCO databases
*Note* Databases owned by different companies have different formats but all generally have the same search tools. If you have trouble with a database please contact Ask a Librarian.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator. Funded by FLVC.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Research overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues. Funded by FLVC.
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Rich database covering religions, art, architecture, journalism, literature, dance, history, literature, drama and comparative studies. Funded by FLVC.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Funded by FLVC.
- Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Essays and research from major reference titles. Provides scholarship on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues. Funded by SCF Group License.
- Research Companion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
RECOMMENDED for ENC1101 students or those students writing their first college research paper. Provides videos and tips on how to choose a topic, develop a thesis statement, and organize your paper. Funded by SCF Group License.
Learning Review
