ENC 1101 Prof. Marcy Murray.
Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101 Prof. Marcy Murray
I am Russell Reece, your ENC1101 librarian. If you have questions, you can send me an email at Reeced@scf.edu, or ask for me at the
Bradenton Library & Learning Center, Bldg. 3
Poe Resources
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowOnce logged into the database type Edgar Allan Poe in to the search bar.
Student Companion to Edgar Allan Poe by
Investigates Poe's legacy, from his era to ours, focusing on his poetry, tales of terror, love stories, and detective stories.
ISBN: 9780313309922Publication Date: 2001-04-30
The Cambridge Introduction to Edgar Allan Poe by
Much remains uncertain about the life of Edgar Allan Poe, the mysterious author of one of the best-known American poems, 'The Raven', the Gothic romance The Fall of the House of Usher, and the first detective fiction, The Murders in the Rue Morgue. This book provides a balanced overview of Poe's career and writings, resisting the tendency of many scholars to sensationalise the more enigmatic aspects of his life. Benjamin F. Fisher outlines Poe's experiments with a wide range of literary forms and genres, and shows how his fiction evolved from Gothic fantasy to plausible, sophisticated psychological fiction. Fisher makes fruitful connections within this diverse body of work, and offers analyses of the major works. The critical afterlife of Poe's work is charted, and the book includes a guide to further reading, making this a handy starting-point for students and readers new to Poe.
ISBN: 9780521859677Publication Date: 2008-09-11
Critical Essays on Edgar Allan Poe by
The full range of literary traditions comes to life in the Twayne Critical Essays Series. Volume editors have carefully selected critical essays that represent the full spectrum of controversies, trends and methodologies relating to each author's work. Essays include writings from the author's native country and abroad, with interpretations from the time they were writing, through the present day. Each volume includes: -- An introduction providing the reader with a lucid overview of criticism from its beginnings -- illuminating controversies, evaluating approaches and sorting out the schools of thought -- The most influential reviews and the best reprinted scholarly essays -- A section devoted exclusively to reviews and reactions by the subject's contemporaries -- Original essays, new translations and revisions commissioned especially for the series -- Previously unpublished materials such as interviews, lost letters and manuscript fragments -- A bibliography of the subject's writings and interviews -- A name and subject index
Call Number: PS2638 .C75 1987ISBN: 0816188785Publication Date: 1987-07-01
Searching for Sources
Click on the box for a brief overview on using the SCF Library Quick Search to start your discovery
Tips for using Quick Search!
-
Use "keywords", combine them and try synonyms
-
Select FULL TEXT when available.
-
Email the document to yourself or save it to One Drive/Google Docs for safekeeping.
-
Paraphrase, quote, or summarize information and CITE it.
-
COPY + CORRECT the citations (go to the Guide or Ask a Librarian).
Recommended Film and Art Databases
Films to Stream
Before you pay for a film from a streaming service, check with the library and see if we can find it for you for free!
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowThis database has the film Idiocracy/2006 available to stream for free. Works best with Firefox, Internet Explorer, or Edge.
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowThis database has the films The Trial/1963 & A Boy and His Dog/1975 available to stream for free.
- Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new windowThis database has the films Modern Times/1936, & Metropolis/1927, to stream for free.
- Internet Movie Database(IMDb)Use this search engine to find other films listed for this class to stream.
Recommended databases for the visual art assignment
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- Art Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new windowCovers the entries from Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, & The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- ArtStor Images This link opens in a new windowAn image library for the Arts from international museums, libraries and artists' collections. Images for African-American, American History, Women's, Asian ,and Classical Art Studies. Anthropology, Architecture, Design, Medical History and other images of art, maps, drawings and more are included.
Searching the Databases
Click on box for instructions on how to starts using the EBSCO databases
*Note* Databases owned by different companies have different formats but all generally have the same search tools. If you have trouble with a database please contact Ask a Librarian.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowResearch overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowRich database covering religions, art, architecture, journalism, literature, dance, history, literature, drama and comparative studies.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new windowViewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
- Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowEssays and research from major reference titles. Provides scholarship on popular topics through out the decades. Uses the face and actions of culture to explain political, social and person issues.
- Research Companion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowRECOMMENDED for ENC1101 students or those students writing their first college research paper. Provides videos and tips on how to choose a topic, develop a thesis statement, and organize your paper.
Citing in MLA
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
- Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
- If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
- When in doubt... Ask a Librarian!
Link to Citing Guides