Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

ENC1101: Thompson

Starting page for all ENC1101 courses

Welcome to the SCF Library Guide for ENC1101 - Prof. Thompson

Contact a Librarian for assistance with this guide.

Your ENC1101 assigned librarian is Alicia, but any of the SCF Librarians can assist you.

ENC1101 Thompson - Assignment

"Technology and its impact on a career in the 21st Century" 

Prof. Thompson's assignment includes the steps listed below.

This Library Guide provides resources for the steps marked in bold.

Step 1: Selecting general topic

Step 2: Preliminary research (Academic Search Complete)

Step 3: Research question and thesis

Step 4: Mode of development

Step 5: Sub points

Step 6: Formal research

Step 7: Working bibliography

Step 8: Flag evidence

Step 9: Expand research

Step 10: Working thesis paragraph and outline

Step 11: First paragraph draft

Step 12: Documentation

Step 13: Full first draft

Step 14: Edit

Step 15: Proofread

Steps 1 and 2: Preliminary research

The following database includes articles in a variety of topics, use it to see how much information there is about your general topic. Try using different keywords, synonyms, or combinations of keywords to explore different results:

The following websites can help you select a career and topics to explore:

Step 6: Formal research

Once you have narrowed down your topic, you need research articles about it.

Some of the following databases will have information, depending on your specific topic. Read the tips below each to decide which ones to try first.

Don't forget to ask a librarian if your search is not being successful!

One more: streaming videos!

The following database (Films on Demand) includes a lot of videos about many topics related to careers and technology.

Step 7: Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated = To annotate = To make notes

Bibliography = List of Books = List of Sources (books, articles, webpages, etc.)

So... 

An Annotated Bibliography is a LIST of all the sources of information you will use in your paper (all the articles, books, etc.) in MLA Citation format, and with notes below each source that describe them and summarize how this source will be used in your paper, what is good about it, what information you will get from it.

 

Watch this funny video to understand more:

Steps 7 and 12: Citing your sources

Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!

  • Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
  • If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
  • When in doubt... ask a librarian!

Citing Guides

Link to Citing Guides

 

Test what you've learned!

Note: If quiz doesn't open when you type-in your name, click HERE to open in new window.