Welcome to the Library Guide for ENC1101 - Prof. Falcon
Prof. Falcon Research Paper
Follow the steps below to find resources for the Research Paper and Annotated Bibliography.
Step 1: Searching Databases
Starting your research:
1) Databases
Databases recommended for ENC1101 are listed in the box below.
Tips!
- Use "keywords", combine them and try synonyms.
- Select FULL TEXT when available.
- Email the document to yourself for safekeeping.
- Paraphrase, quote, or summarize information and CITE it.
- COPY + CORRECT the citations (go to the Guide or ask a librarian.)
General Topics Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMOST RECOMMENDED. Cross disciplinary coverage from Astronomy to Zoology. Scholarly journal articles, industry magazines and top newspapers. Text with screen reader and translator.
- Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative Full Text content from Reference sources, Periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places or gender.
- CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new windowResearch overviews of public affairs topics covering social, economic, environmental and technological issues.
- Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new windowViewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
Step 2: Searching books & ebooks
Search the "Library Catalog" also called "Quick Search":
This "all-in-one search" includes books, ebooks, videos, articles & more.
Type-in keywords and use the filters on the left side to sort books from articles, videos, etc.
Go to Quick Search
Step 3: Citing
Documenting your research: Avoid plagiarism!
- Always cite the sources you use, even if you "paraphrase" (put it into your own words.)
- If you copy+paste the citation provided in the database's "Citation Tool", check the rules and CORRECT any mistakes.
- When in doubt... ask a librarian!
Link to Citing Guides
Step 3: How to cite in MLA format
- MLA in 1 minute slides from videoThis PDF shows the Basics of MLA, as shown in the video above.
Your librarian will go into more detail in the class presentation, but keep the file for reference. - MLA in 1 pagePrintable one-page (two sided) PDF with a summary of video above.
Annotated Bibliography
What's an Annotated Bibliography?
Bibliography
Means you make a list of sources of information (articles, books, etc.) about a specific topic, cited in a standard citation style (like MLA) and alphabetized.
Annotated
Means you write a NOTE under each article, book, or item listed, that explains what it is about and how it will be used in the assignment or research essay.
How do I make one?
Gather all your sources (articles, books, websites, etc.) and create their citations in MLA.
You can use the citation tools from the databases, but remember to COPY/PASTE & CORRECT, or check with a librarian.
List the citations in alphabetical order, in a page titled "Annotated Bibliography".
The citations should be indented with a "hanging indentation" and double spaced, with no extra spaces between lines.
Under each citation, write a paragraph that summarizes what's about, explains how it's useful for your topic, what part of the article you are going to use, etc.
Important: Your professor usually gives you directions on what they want you to write in the notes/annotations. Check their instructions!
How to transform your Works Cited to an Annotated Bibliography
Sample of a "Works Cited" page
To transform it into an Annotated Bibliography:
- Change the title from Works Cited to Annotated Bibliography
- Add an "annotation" to each "citation"
(Changes are shown in purple for clarity - The text in your paper would be all black, of course.)
