Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

SCF Libraries Policies

Policies regarding library services and resources for SCF Libraries in all three campuses.

Types of Patrons & Privileges: Students

Definition:

Applies to SCF enrolled students currently attending classes. (Students not currently attending classes may register as Community Borrowers.)

Includes Associates, Bachelor's & Dual Enrolled students; it does not include SCFCS 6-10th grade. 

 

Loan limits:

30 item limit, depending on Item Policy permissions.

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Circulation [3 weeks]
  • Popular Choice Books [3 weeks]
  • Popular Choice DVDs [7 days]
  • Course Reserves [In house use only]
  • Young Adult [3 weeks]
  • Child [3 weeks]
  • Print Periodicals [7 days]
  • Equipment [varies - see Library Guide]

 

Privileges also include:

  • Inter Library Loan (from other Libraries)
  • Remote Access to online resources/databases [articles, ebooks & streaming video]
  • Students with an Incomplete status who require access to library resources after the end of a semester are permitted access on a case-by-case basis and should work with their Faculty to identify the extension of their Library permissions needed.  Please contact Theresa Smith-Ennis (Venice & LWR) or Alicia Long (Bradenton).  They are the Library supervisors in charge of these requests. (7/2022)

Definition:

Applies to enrolled students currently attending classes in the SCF Collegiate School (SCFCS). More specifically, this applies to SCFCS 6-10th grade or students not enrolled in SCF college level classes.

(Students in grades 11 and 12 attending college classes are considered "SCF Students")

Item limit:  

30 item limit depending on Item Policy permissions, or as instructed by the SCFCS Teacher.

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Young Adult [5 weeks]
  • Circulation [5 weeks]
  • Popular Choice Books [5 weeks only with the permission of a teacher or parent]
  • Popular Choice DVDs [7 days only with the permission of a teacher or parent]
  • Child [5 weeks]

 

Privileges also include:

  • Remote Access to ALL online resources/databases (for both K-12 and College level) [articles, ebooks & streaming video]

Definition:

Applies to non-SCF students attending one of the schools in the Cross College Alliance (CCA): Ringling College, New College of Florida, Ringling Museum/FSU, and USF Sarasota-Manatee.

 

Item limits:

5-item limit depending on Item Policy.

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Circulation  [3 weeks]
  • Popular Reading books [3 weeks]
  • Popular DVDs  [7 days]
  • Course Reserves [In Library use only]
  • Young Adult [3 weeks]
  • Child [3 weeks]
  • Print periodicals [7 days, except latest issue]
  • Equipment [varies - see Library Guide]

Definition:

Applies to college or university students who are not SCF students and who attend colleges or universities in the FLVC consortium (public State Colleges or Universities in Florida, except for Cross-College Alliance or CCA).

 

Item limits:

5-item limit depending on Item Policy permissions.

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Circulation [3 weeks]
  • Popular Readings books [3 weeks]
  • Popular DVDs [7 days]
  • Young Adult [3 weeks]
  • Child [3 weeks]
  • Print periodicals [7 days]

 

Types of Patrons & Privileges: Staff & Others

Definition:

Applies to full & part-time staff and faculty hired by SCF.  Status expires upon separation from SCF.

 

Items limit:

30-item limit depending on Item Policy permissions.

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Circulation [3 weeks]
  • Popular Reading books [3 weeks]
  • Popular DVDs [7 days]
  • Course Reserves [In Library use only]
  • Young Adult [3 weeks]
  • Child [3 weeks]
  • Print periodicals [7 days]
  • Equipment [varies - see Library Guide]

 

Privileges also include:

  • Inter-library Loan
  • Remote access to online resources [articles, ebooks & streaming video].

Definition:

Applies to non-SCF affiliated patrons who register as "Community Borrower" or "Community Guest". In order to receive this status, community guests need to be members of a Public Library which is part of the TBLC Reciprocal borrowing agreement. (https://tblc.org/rb)

 

Process to register as Community Borrower:

  1. Community Borrowers must provide a current (and in good standing) library card from their home public library, a photo ID, and fill out a Form provided at the SCF Library (and included below).
  2. Library card, ID, and signed form need to be presented to the SCF Public Safety Office to obtain a Guest SCF ID.
  3. The activation of new accounts in Library Systems might take around 24-48 hours. Check-out of materials is allowed once the account is activated in the Library System.

 

Items limit:

Community Borrowers have a 5-item limit, according to Item Status permissions 

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Circulation [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Popular Choice Books [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Popular Choice DVDs [7 days, No Renewal] 

  • Young Adult [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Child [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Print Periodicals [7 days, No Renewal] 

  • In-House access to most online resources [articles, most ebooks & streaming video] 

 

Privileges do not include: 

  • Inter Library Loan 

  • Remote Access to online resources [articles, ebooks & streaming video] 

  • Certain equipment and materials from Reserves or Maker Commons rooms.

 

Printing:

Same-day printing by cash payment is not available for non-students.

Community Guests who would like to print at the SCF Libraries need to request a printing account. After getting a Guest ID and being active in the Library system, a PaperCut (printing) account can be requested from an SCF Librarian. It takes 24-48 hours and a minimum deposit of $5 with a debit/credit card is needed.

Definition:

Applies to retired full-time SCF staff & faculty who register as an  "SCF Emeritus" patron. Upon retirement from SCF, retiring employees may request this patron status. 

 

Process to register as "SCF Emeritus":

Former employee is required to present a current Manatee, Sarasota or TBLC-reciprocal borrowing Public Library Card and a photo ID. 

Bring the public library card to the Front Desk and an SCF Librarian will convert your employee status to emeritus status.

 

Items limit:

SCF Emeritus have a 5-item limit, according to Item Status permissions.

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Circulation [3 weeks, 1 renewal] 

  • Popular Choice Books [3 weeks, 1 renewal] 

  • Popular Choice DVDs [7 days, No renewal] 

  • Young Adult [3 weeks, 1 renewal] 

  • Child [3 weeks, 1 renewal] 

  • Print Periodicals [7 days, No renewal] 

  • In-House access to most online resources [articles, most ebooks & streaming video] 

 

Privileges also might include: 

  • Inter Library Loan [loans & renewals set by lending institution] with permission from an SCF Librarian.

Definition:

Applies to current participants in the SCF Entrepreneurship Hub. Privileges end upon separation from the program.

 

Process to register as "SCF Entrepreneurship Borrower":

  1. SCF Entrepreneurship Borrowers must have a valid SCF ID before setting up their Library Account. 
  2. After they receive a "26 West/Guest ID" from Public Safety, patrons need to complete a Form to be entered into the SCF Library Systems.
  3. Activation of the SCF Library account in the system might take 24-48 hours.

 

Items Limit:

SCF Entrepreneurship Borrowers have a 5-item limit, according to Item Status permissions.

 

Loan periods by collection:

  • Circulation [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Popular Choice Books [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Popular Choice DVDs [7 days, No Renewal] 

  • Young Adult [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Child [3 weeks, No Renewal] 

  • Print Periodicals* [7 days, No Renewal]* Tampa Bay Library Journal is available on RESERVES only (In-Library use).

  • In-House access to most online resources [articles, most ebooks & streaming video] 

 

Privileges do not include: 

  • Inter Library Loan 

  • Remote Access to online resources [articles, ebooks & streaming video] 

  • Certain equipment (view Technology Policy)

 

Late, Lost & Damaged Items

Overdue Items:

  • The Library sends out reminder notices by email to college or patron (Community) emails, 3 days prior to your due date. 
  • Items not returned or renewed by the due date are considered overdue and are subject to Academic HOLDS: when an item is not returned on time, an Academic Hold will be placed on your College account until the item is returned. HOLDs are ‘released’ once items are returned. There are no fees for late materials unless specified (for selected equipment, for example).  
  • Patrons assume all responsibility for Library items until they have been returned. The library does not charge daily late fees (except for specific equipment).  
  • Students may manage their loans by accessing their My Account log in, from the Library website.  https://scf.edu/library .  

 

Lost or Damaged Library Materials 

  • Patrons assume all responsibility for Library items until they have been returned.
  • Items which are lost or returned in damaged condition are the responsibility of the patron and an Academic Hold will be placed on your College account until the item is replaced or the replacement cost is paid.  

The Library values items at the following rates: 

  • Book at $50 or replacement cost 
  • DVDs at $20  
  • Technology, equipment & other items at replacement cost. 

There is also a $10 processing fee per item (if a DVD set has multiple disks, then each disk accrues an additional processing fee). 

 

Replacing instead of paying for Library Materials 

  • Items may be replaced instead of paying the full fines and processing fees. This is the preferred method to resolve lost & damaged items and often is less expensive to the patron rather than paying the fine. 
  • Please work with a Librarian when choosing to replace a Library item so that your Academic Hold may be cleared as quickly as possible. 
  • To talk to a librarian about resolving a hold, please call the Library (Bradenton 941-752-5305 or Venice 941-408-1435, Lakewood Ranch 941-363-7250). 
  • If you choose to not work with a Librarian, payments can be made online through your SCF Connect account or by contacting the Cashier/Fee Payment office (https://scf.edu/StudentServices/Tuition)

*The Library will work with students or the Dean of Students to resolve any Library fines.  

 

Stolen Library Materials 

Occasionally library items are stolen from students who have borrowed them from the Library. Filing a police report, then a College Incident Report from SCF’s Public Safety Office and providing copies to the Library, allows us to waive all fines.   

Please notify the Library as soon as you are able, if this happens to you.